News 6 Nov 2019

Locations confirmed for 2020 MX Nationals championship

Seven-event season now official in addition to standalone Pro-Am round.

Image: Foremost Media.

The locations for the 2020 MX Nationals season have been confirmed, with the series officially set to host 10 rounds over seven stops, plus a standalone Pro-Am event that will include the opening round for the MXD category.

The championship will kick-off on 22 March at Appin in New South Wales before heading to Horsham in Victoria for the first of three double headers, scheduled on 4-5 April.

Round four of the series will once again be hosted in Victoria at Newry on 3 May, while Gympie in Queensland returns after a successful maiden event this year. It’s pencilled in for 24 May, with a lengthy break in the series to follow.

The iconic Conondale circuit in Queensland will host round six on return from the break on 28 June, while rounds seven and eight will take place at Maitland in New South Wales on 25-26 July.

The championship will conclude at Coolum in Queensland for rounds nine and 10, scheduled for 22-23 August. Popular venues Murray Bridge, Broadford, Wonthaggi, along with Moree, have been dropped for 2020.

The newly-introduced Pro-Am event will take place at Traralgon in Victoria on 22-23 February, and will be contested by the MXD, Women’s, Vets and Rookie classes. These classes, plus others, will act as support races at selected events throughout the season.

With the MXD championship commencing at the Pro-Am, the Under 19s category will finish up prior to Coolum’s finals at Maitland’s penultimate stop, allowing riders to feature as wildcards in the MX2 category at the season finale.

2020 MX Nationals calendar:
Rd1 – 22 March – Appin, New South Wales
Rds 2-3 – 4-5 April – Horsham, Victoria
Rd4 – 3 May – Newry, Victoria
Rd5 – 24 May – Gympie, Queensland
Rd6 – 28 June – Conondale, Queensland
Rds 7-8 – 25-26 July – Maitland, New South Wales
Rds 9-10 – 22-23 August – Coolum, Queensland