News 5 May 2024

MX1 red plate returns to Webster after spirited Gillman ProMX victory

Beaton and Waters lock out the podium in South Australia's third round.

Image: Foremost Media.

The MX1 championship lead has returned to Kyle Webster (Honda Racing) following a spirited 1-1 victory over Jed Beaton (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) today in South Australia for round three of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship.

The first MX1 moto saw Webster claim the hole shot and early lead with reigning champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) in tow, meanwhile pole-sitter Beaton found himself deep within the field.

Beaton made a number of efficient passes on the opening lap to position himself in third behind teammate Ferris, to duo maintaining a consistent gap to Webster. With just over three minutes to go, Beaton pulled the trigger to pass Ferris – the number one seemingly experiencing a goggle issue in the aftermath where he ultimately lost touch with the top two.

The stage was set for a blockbuster finish as Beaton latched onto Webster, and while a pass for the lead looked imminent, Webster remained composed with an incredible defensive effort to secure victory by a slender 0.775s.

Ferris salvaged third ahead of Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) and Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Racing), while the top 10 was completed by Luke Clout (Empire Kawasaki), Kirk Gibbs (GasGas Racing Team), Brett Metcalfe (Penrite GO24), Zachary Watson (Husqvarna), and Levi Rogers (Beta).

The start of moto two was a mirror image as Webster once again secured the hole shot, as Beaton and Ferris found themselves further back in the pack.

Webster initially built a small advantage, although a hard-charging Beaton managed to work his way into the lead by lap, although a costly mistake just a few laps later saw him relinquish the lead.

The race looked to be Websters, however Beaton had other ideas as he managed to get within striking distance of the former MX2 champion in the closing laps of the race. In a remarkable fight, the number 96 lifted with a lap to spare, bridging a small margin that gave him breathing room to secure not only the moto win, but the overall and championship lead.

Beaton settled for second ahead of Waters – the trio making up the overall top three in that order – as Gibbs and Ferris crossed the line for fourth and fifth respectively. The top 10 was completed by Clout, Crawford, Metcalfe, Dylan Wood (Honda), Joel Evans (Yamaha) and Cody O’Loan (Honda).

Webster’s overall win now sees him lead Beaton by one point in the MX1 championship standings as the series heads to Maitland, New South Wales, on 25-26 May for round four.

Detailed results