News 28 Aug 2018

AUS Supercross adopts Triple Crown for majority of rounds

Geelong, Port Adelaide and Sydney events choose three-race format.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Three of five rounds in the 2018 Australian Supercross Championship will adopt a modern Triple Crown format, including all but the opening two rounds of the season in Queensland.

While Jimboomba and Coolum will retain the more traditional full-length main events of 20 laps for SX1 and 15 laps for SX2, Geelong, Port Adelaide and Sydney’s AUS-X Open will each feature multiple finals per pro class.

Rounds three and four organiser, Troy Bayliss Events, has confirmed that regular qualifying, heat races and last-chance qualifiers will be contested, in addition to a trio of nine-lap main events for SX1. The SX2 category finals will take place over three seven-lap mains.

It will be a fast-paced night of competition through a three-hour program at both GMHBA Stadium and Gillman Speedway, with SX1 and SX2 to alternate between their finals. There will also be an assortment of junior and off-track entertainment throughout both the Geelong and Port Adelaide events.

“We have chosen to go with the Triple Crown format for Geelong and Port Adelaide,” Troy Bayliss Events’ Mark Peterson told “Supercross is an event, a show, and we want the crowd to be really engaged. The concept of shorter, sharper racing will provide that and we’re looking forward to rolling it out at both of our events. We want the fans to enjoy it, 110 percent!

“You take supercross to the people, so you really have to put on a show and that’s what we’re aiming to do. We are complimenting the on-track action with off-track entertainment, which will lend itself to people who are experiencing supercross for the first time as well. We want to put on an event and showcase the sport in the best possible way, hopefully to build the future of supercross.”

Confirmation that the Monster Energy AUS-X Open would become a Triple Crown for 2018 was announced in May, to feature three 12-lap finals in SX1 and three nine-lap finals in SX2 through the tight confines of Qudos Bank Arena. Qualifying, heat races and last-chance qualifiers will also hit the track, joined by a unique Friday program featuring juniors and a 2-Stroke Cup.