News 1 Nov 2023

US-based 250 teams in final stages of taking shape

A number of key developments ahead of the 2024 season.

Image: Supplied.

A wide mixture of 250 class rider signings and changes have occurred ahead of the 2024 Monster Energy Supercross Championship as the US-based teams are in the final stages of taking shape.

A notable absentee from the category is current 250SX East and 250MX champion Hunter Lawrence, announced yesterday to join brother Jett Lawrence, the 250SX West, 450MX and 450SMX champion in Team Honda HRC’s 450 effort.

Filling the vacant seat left by Lawrence at Team Honda HRC is Jo Shimoda, the Japanese racer a proven winner and he showed significant form in the late stages of the 2023 season. Alongside Shimoda in red is Chance Hymas, who had his 2023 campaign cut short by injury.

With both 250SX champions out of the class next year, it’s all to play for in each region, with 250SMX champion Haiden Deegan headlining a seven-rider Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing YZ250F professional line-up, that features Jordon Smith, Nick Romano, Stilez Robertson, Nate Thrasher and Daxton Bennick, while 24-year-old Brazilian Enzo Lopes will join the ranks.

A five-strong line-up will feature at Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki, with Levi Kitchen making the high-profile switch from Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing. Also joining Mitch Payton’s squad is Max Vohland, following a three-year stint at Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, while Austin Forkner, Cameron McAdoo and Seth Hammaker return for the 2024 season.

Of those departing the Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki team, Ryder DiFrancesco has joined the Troy Lee Designs Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing program, while Jett Reynolds has more recently been linked to a spot at ClubMX.

DiFrancesco joins Pierce Brown in the factory GasGas effort, effectively replacing the outbound Michael Mosiman, who is expected to join new team Triumph Racing, alongside already announced Joey Savatgy who can only compete in Pro Motocross due to previously pointing out of 250SX.

RJ Hampshire has extended with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing, to be joined by Casey Cochran and former Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing rider Guillem Farres onboard the FC 250.

Double MX2 world champion Tom Vialle will spearhead Red Bull KTM Factory’s US-based quarter-litre effort, alongside the emerging talent of Julien Beaumer. Former KTM amateur Preston Boespflug will turn professional with the BarX Suzuki team.

While official entry lists for which riders are competing East or West in 250SX have not yet been revealed, the opening round of the 2024 Monster Energy Supercross Championship takes place at Angel Stadium, Anaheim, on 6 January.