News 20 Aug 2023

Rampant Todd claims fourth MX2 title at Coolum ProMX

Dennis and Cannon wrap up the MX3 and MXW championships.

Image: Foremost Media.

Terrafirma Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd strode to a comfortable double-moto victory at the final round of the Penrite ProMX Championship at Coolum, as he secured his fourth MX2 title.

At the final race meeting at Coolum Pines circuit, KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford toughed out a second overall, while GasGas Racing Team rider Noah Ferguson put in an inspiring third-overall performance.

Todd put in an aggressive come-from-behind charge to take the opening moto win, and claim the 2023 MX2 Championship in the process.

WBR Yamaha’s Ryder Kingsford took the holeshot before Ferguson took over the lead, but all eyes were further back in the pack, as a nervous Todd completed the first lap in seventh and Crawford in 12th.

A tip-over saw Kingsford temporarily inherit the lead, before Connolly then surged to the front at the halfway mark.

Further back, Crawford closed onto the back of Todd, but Todd responded, dropping consistently fastest lap-times to slice through the pack and make a pass for the lead on the 12th lap.

Some desperate racing ensued on the final laps between Connolly and Crawford, with the KTM rider eventually getting the better of the Honda rider and crossing the finishline 8.2 seconds behind Todd.

Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) finished fourth, with Ferguson recovering from a second fall to finish fifth.

Western Australian Brock Flynn (GasGas) placed sixth, ahead of Ryan Alexanderson (KTM), Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha), Liam Andrews (Spectro Elliott Bros Racing Honda) and Caleb Ward (Husqvarna).

Despite having already won the series, Todd capped off a successful day and 2023 campaign by winning the last MX2 race.

KTM privateer Ryley Fitzpatrick edged Todd for the holeshot, but by the second straight the Honda Racing rider had already taken the lead.

The timing sheets will say he won by 28.3 seconds, but he was pushed to the last lap by a hard-charging Noah Ferguson. Ferguson was 11th on the opening lap, but sliced his way through the pack and onto the rear wheel of Todd, before a mistake on the final lap saw him remount and finish P2.

Crawford, who was battling a sore back, ground out a P3 result, ahead of a fast-finishing Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), and two-stroke privateer Caleb Ward.

Connolly, Budd, Minear, Alexanderson and Madoc Dixon (KTM) filled the remaining top 10 positions.

In the final championship wash-up, Todd finished with 334 points, ahead of Crawford (299 points) and Connolly (265 points).

Image: Foremost Media.

GasGas racer Byron Dennis claimed the MX3 championship after splitting Coolum race wins with Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing’s Jack Mather.

Dennis fell from the lead in the opening moto to hand a visibly ill Mather a hard-earned win, but responded to take the second race by more than 17 seconds. Seth Burchell (Yamaha) took third on the day with a 4-2 result.

Dennis scored 319 championship points to Jack Mather’s 292, while Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Jake Cannon – who sat out the final round – finished third on 226 points.

A dominant display in the Coolum sand by Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Charli Cannon saw her successfully defend her MXW crown.

Having come into the final round tied on points with Honda rider Emma Milesevic, Cannon stamped her authority on the class, strolling to a comfortable 1-1 result.

Empire Kawasaki rider Taylah McCutcheon finished second on the day with a 2-3 effort, followed by Tahlia O’Hare (Honda Racing), who ended with a 4-2 scorecard. Milesevic had a tough day, finishing sixth overall.

In the championship, Cannon finished on 150 points, ahead of Milesevic (131) and Honda rider Madison Brown (121).

Detailed results