News 29 Oct 2022

Brayton and Todd lead Adelaide AUSX qualifying

The fields are set for the second round of the Australian Supercross Championship.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda racers Justin Brayton and Wilson Todd have set the early pace at the second round of the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross Championship at Adelaide Showground, topping the time-sheets during qualifying.

Defending Australian Supercross Champion and current SX1 points leader, Justin Brayton, threw down searing final lap to snatch SX1 qualifying honours from BBR 102 Motorsports’ Matt Moss.

Moss led most of the session, but Honda Genuine Polyflor Honda Racing’s Brayton clocked a 38.758s lap-time after time had expired to leap to the top of the leaderboards as the only racer to break into the 38s.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s Aaron Tanti qualified third-fastest, ahead of Jackson Richardson (Empire Kawasaki) and Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team).

GasGas Racing Team’s Hayden Mellross finished P6, ahead of Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team), who’s filling in for the injured Luke Clout, Kyle Webster (Honda Racing), Cory Watts (Honda) and Dylan Wood (KTM).

Image: Foremost Media.

Terrafirma Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd emerged as the fastest qualifier as racing got under way.

The Queenslander’s time of 39.678s was 0.566s faster than his nearest competitor, Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), as Todd’s Terrafirma Honda Racing team-mate and championship leader, Max Anstie, rounded out the top three, just 0.01s behind Crawford.

Rhys Budd (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Canadian Col Thompson (Serco Yamaha) would complete the top five positions.

NSW’s Jaxon Hadlow (Honda) put in an impressive ride to qualify sixth-fastest, as Jace Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Gage Linville (Honda), Jai Constantinou (Empire Kawasaki) and Jy Roberts (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) rounded out the top 10.

Detailed results