News 29 Aug 2022

Team Australia WJMX charge led by Minear and Fisher

USA victorious in Nations classification, Australia P8.

Image: Supplied.

The 2022 FIM Junior Motocross World Championship (WJMX) in Finland is complete with Kayden Minear and Heath Fisher the highest placed riders for Team Australia.

Competing in the 125cc category, Minear finished ninth in the opening bout before going one better in moto two to cross the line P8, landing him seventh overall for the event – tied on points with P6.

Byron Dennis also lined up in the class and notched 24th for the first moto before a less fortunate second outing saw him 10 laps down from the lead. Ivano Van Erp was ultimately crowned 125 Junior Motocross World champion for The Netherlands.

In the 85cc class, Fisher finished P7 overall courtesy of 11-6 results. Jack Deveson completed the event P23 following 21-17 moto scores, with Dutch rider Gyan Doensen being crowned world champion in the category.

Seth Thomas and Ollie Birkitt competed against the best riders in the world on 65cc machinery, with the pair landing 31st and 35th overall respectively in the class that was ultimately won by Lucas Leok of Estonia.

In the Nations classification, Australia finished eighth, as Team USA was victorious from Finland and The Netherlands.

Detailed results