News 11 Oct 2014

Moss dominates Australian Supercross opener at Bathurst

Harrison tops SX2 final, as Simpson wins SXD overall.

Image: Marc Jones Photography.

Image: Marc Jones Photography.

Team Motul Suzuki’s Matt Moss has won the opening round of the 2014 Penrite Australian Supercross Championship, held under lights on Friday night at Bathurst Showground.

Defending champion Moss comfortably won his heat race and then blitzed to the 20-lap main event victory, leading every lap on board the 2015 RM-Z450 with an eventual advantage of 5.488s after cruising to the finish.

Moss won ahead of Adam Monea (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki), who got the better of an entertaining battle for second over Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and a fast-finishing Lawson Bopping (Team Motul Suzuki), who worked his way from outside the top 10.

Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) was also in the mix for the podium as he completed the top five, followed by impressive privateer Sam Martin (Suzuki), Jake Moss (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki), Jay Marmont (Penrite Honda), Josh Cachia (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team) and Jesse Dobson (KTM Motocross Racing Team).

Jake Moss ran as high as second before dropping down the order during the final six laps, while Cachia was also up front in the early laps in what was his premier class debut on the FC 350.

In the SX2 ranks it was Brenden Harrison (Instant Security KTM) who starred with the final victory, also leading every lap to win by 4.191s over American imports Kyle Peters (Wilsons MX Honda) and Gavin Faith (Penrite Honda).

Image: Marc Jones Photography.

Image: Marc Jones Photography.

Former champion Faith was particularly impressive during the main event, setting the fastest lap after encountering trouble on the opening lap and having to work his way from ninth on lap one.

Marginally missing the podium was Jackson Richardson (Honda), finishing fourth ahead of Lewis Woods (Penrite Honda), Hayden Mellross (Raceline Suzuki), Taylor Potter (Boardstix Motorsport Honda), Ryan Marmont (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team), Luke Arbon (SD3 Husqvarna) and Nick Sutherland (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki).

In the SXD ranks it was now 250F-mounted Jack Simpson (Davey Motorsport KTM) who claimed the round win via 1-2-1 finishes, scoring the overall from race two winner Dylan Wills (KTM Newcastle) and Aaron Tanti (Sutto’s/SS Racing KTM), who took home a trio of thirds.

Kawasaki’s Meghan Rutledge won the Women’s class overall with all three race wins, leading Sayaka Kaneshiro (Honda) and Maddison Brown (Yamaha).

In the Junior Lites it was Dylan Dukes (SS Racing/Coastal KTM) who raced to the overall with 3-2-1 results, topping races one and two winner Jordan Hill (Yamaha Junior Racing) and Lachlan Holroyd.

Round two of the series will take place again in Bathurst this evening. Click here to view the Fan Guide.

2014 Australian Supercross Championship
Round one – Bathurst, NSW

SX1 main event results:
1. Matt MOSS
2. Adam MONEA
3. Kirk GIBBS
4. Lawson BOPPING
5. Kade MOSIG
7. Jake MOSS
9. Josh CACHIA
10. Jesse DOBSON
11. Daniel McCOY
12. Justin CARAFA
13. Tim VARE
14. Kieren TISDALE
15. Joel NEWTON

SX2 main event results:
1. Brenden HARRISON
2. Kyle PETERS
3. Gavin FAITH
5. Lewis WOODS
6. Hayden MELLROSS
7. Taylor POTTER
9. Luke ARBON
11. Luke WILSON
12. Kale MAKEHAM
14. John PRUTTI
15. Boyd HOCKING
16. Jake VELLA
18. Tristan DUNCAN

SXD overall results:
1. Jack SIMPSON 102
2. Dylan WILLS 95
3. Aaron TANTI 90
4. Brock McLEARY 88
5. Izak MAULE 75
6. Tomas RAVENHORST 74
7. Trent WHEATLEY 73
8. Blake SOLA 72

Women’s overall results:
1. Meghan RUTLEDGE 105
2. Sayaka KANESHIRO 94
3. Maddison BROWN 92
4. Sarah ELWIN 84

Junior Lites overall results:
1. Dylan DUKES 97
2. Jordan HILL 96
3. Lachlan HOLROYD 92
4. Kaleb GROTHUES 84
5. Travis SILK 82
6. Drew CIGLIANO 76
7. Joel CIGLIANO 49
8. Jacob BUCKMAN 23

Click here for detailed results