News 19 Jan 2014

Reed scores emotion-charged Anaheim 2 victory

Australian legend scores thrilling win number 42 of his career.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Discount Tire Racing’s Chad Reed picked up a popular Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship, win at Anaheim 2’s third round of the 2014 season tonight.

The 31-year-old Australian was relentless in his pursuit of victory at Angel Stadium, recovering from sixth in the early laps to slice his way through to the lead with three laps remaining.

It was two-time series champion Reed’s first victory since the Los Angeles supercross in 2012, a full two years ago and just weeks before his season-ending crash in Dallas. Fittingly, the result came as the sport celebrated its 40th anniversary this weekend.

“Last year was just so gnarly, the fact that I was just emotional week in, week out,” Reed commented. “We just made so many changes, when you’re 31 going on 32 you’re the old guy out there [and] start to second guess yourself a bit.

“That was when I just knuckled down, made the choices that I felt were right and I’m very, very thankful for Discount Tire sponsoring the program and allowing me to do what I love to do.”

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey led the opening six laps before crashing following the whoops, handing the front position to James Stewart (Yoshimura Suzuki). Stewart led all the way until Reed stormed by, eventually crossing the line second.

New points leader Ken Roczen (Red Bull KTM) completed the podium after an early battle with training partner Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki). The latter crashed while going for the lead on lap 15, tangling with Stewart in the process.

Villopoto remounted to finish fifth behind Justin Brayton (JGR Yamaha), despite a last corner encounter with Dungey that saw them both go down. Dungey finished sixth.

Roczen now leads the championship one point ahead of Villopoto and a further two ahead of Reed, who rebounded from a ninth place finish last weekend in Phoenix.

Matt Moss (Yoshimura Suzuki) won his semi-final earlier in the night, ending up 19th in an eventful main event. Countryman Lawson Bopping (Suzuki) was forced out of the night program following an incident in the LCQ.

In the West Coast 250SX category it was new title leader Cole Seely (Troy Lee Designs Honda) who broke through for his first win of the year, from Cooper Webb (Yamaha) and Malcolm Stewart (Troy Lee Designs Honda).

Stewart benefited from former series leader Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Racing KTM) being demoted from second to fourth after he was penalised for jumping while the medical flags were displayed.

Australian rookie Dean Ferris rode his Red Bull KTM to 11th, now sitting ninth in the championship following three rounds.

The Monster Energy Supercross series will continue in Oakland next Saturday night, 25 January.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship
Round three – Anaheim, CA

450SX main event results:
1. Chad Reed
2. James Stewart
3. Ken Roczen
4. Justin Brayton
5. Ryan Villopoto
6. Ryan Dungey
7. Weston Peick
8. Josh Hill
9. Andrew Short
10. Jake Weimer
11. Justin Barcia
12. Wil Hahn
13. Ivan Tedesco
14. Josh Grant
15. Nick Wey
16. Matthew Goerke
17. Vince Friece
18. Mike Alessi
19. Matt Moss
20. Chris Blose
21. Kyle Partridge
22. Jimmy Albertson

450SX championship standings (after 3 of 17 rounds):
1. Ken Roczen 60
2. Ryan Villopoto 59
3. Chad Reed 57
4. Ryan Dungey 57
5. Justin Brayton 55
6. James Stewart 44
7. Justin Barcia 42
8. Andrew Short 38
9. Wil Hahn 30
10. Broc Tickle 26
11. Jake Weimer 25
12. Josh Grant 21
13. Weston Peick 20
14. Matt Moss 20
15. Ivan Tedesco 18
16. Josh Hill 16
17. Mike Alessi 16
18. Nick Wey 14
19. Matthew Goerke 12
20. Vince Frience 11

West Coast 250SX main event results:
1. Cole Seely
2. Cooper Webb
3. Malcolm Stewart
4. Jason Anderson
5. Justin Hill
6. Shane Mcelrath
7. Dean Wilson
8. Zach Osborne
9. Michael Leib
10. Jessy Nelson
11. Dean Ferris
12. Dakota Tedder
13. Cole Martinez
14. Chris Plouffe
15. Valentin Teillet
16. Chris Howell
17. Chris Proscelle
18. Conner Elliott
19. Scott Champion
20. Austin Burns
21. Aaron Siminoe
22. Joseph Dalzell

West Coast 250 SX championship standings (after 3 of 9 rounds):
1. Cole Seely 69
2. Jason Anderson 68
3. Cooper Webb 53
4. Zach Osborne 53
5. Dean Wilson 50
6. Malcolm Stewart 49
7. Justin Hill 44
8. Jessy Nelson 35
9. Dean Ferris 31
10. Shane McElrath 29
11. Michael Leib 22
12. Darryn Durham 21
13. Dakota Tedder 21
14. Cole Martinez 20
15. Scott Champion 14
16. Chris Plouffe 13
17. Austin Politelli 11
18. Jake Canada 10
19. Valentin Teillet 10
20. Austin Burns 9

Click here for detailed results