News 16 Aug 2009

AORC: Price scores second win in a row to close on series lead


A stellar performance this weekend has meant 22-year-old Toby Price will go into the final two rounds of the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) just five-points behind current leader, Stefan Merriman.

Price, from Singleton (NSW), took his second consecutive Outright win at round eight of the championship held today at Cherrabah Resort, near Warwick.

“I’m stoked. It’s been an awesome weekend, the whole team’s put in a good effort and it’s got us up front,” Price, of the MSC Kawasaki Off-Road Team, said.

“You can’t ask for better than that and we’re all over the moon with it.

“The track today was tight and technical and I really thought the 250cc’s would have had an advantage.

“But I’ve taken to it pretty good and just have to try and stay smooth and consistent for the final two rounds at Young next month.”

Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha rider, Jarrod Bewley, came the closest to Price today, finishing second Outright and in Championship E2 by 17-seconds.

Bewley’s teammate, 36-year-old Queenslander ‘King’ Kirk Hutton, was also on the gas, riding his 250cc four-stroke to first in Championship E1 and third Outright.

“Everything was clicking this weekend and I felt like I was riding really strong,” Hutton said.

“I was relaxed in my home state, I didn’t have to drive a long time. Things were working really good for me this weekend, so I was really stoked with my result.

“I basically just want to go into [the final rounds at Young] and get the best result I can.

“I’m seven-points behind Ben Kearney for the E1 class lead now so I’ll ride my hardest, try and be relaxed and have fun on the bike.”

In Championship E3 it was KTM rider Geoff Braico who again claimed the top podium position, winning the class by more than one-minute.

“I had a good day… just tried to stay on the bike and stay consistent, I didn’t want to crash – I hurt myself yesterday,” Braico said.

“I really want to [win the E3 class title] for myself and all my sponsors, they’ve been with me for a long time.

“I also want to make sure people think E3 riders can be up there in the Outright, so that’s what I’m striving for. I’m really looking forward to [the final rounds at Young].”

Rounding out the top-10 Outright today was Ben Kearney (Motorex KTM), Stefan Merriman (Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha), Chris Hollis (Husqvarna Racing), Josh Green (MSC Kawasaki), Shannon Lewry (Husaberg), Geoff Braico and Damian Smith (High Roller KTM).

In the Expert ranks, Daniel Milner took out the Outright and E2/3 honors. Expert E1 was won by Lachlan Stanford.

Yamaha riders Jemma Wilson, Geoff Ballard and Stuart Bennett were again the fastest in Championship Women’s, Master’s and Veteran’s respectively.

Dylan Rose was the quickest Clubman, winning the category Outright and the E1 class. Thomas Clark was victorious in Clubman E2/3.

Wayne Winston took out Clubman Veteran’s. His son, Casey, was the quickest Junior Lites 13 to 14-years.

In Junior Lites 15-years and Junior Outright, Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha racer Benjamin Burrell won the top prize.

The remaining Junior winners were: Nic Tomlinson (Junior Class 1, nine to 11-years), Nicholas Lean (class 2, 12 to 13-years) and Liam Clover (class 3, 14 to 15-years).

For full results from today, championship point’s after today’s round, a video compilation and pics, go to

The final two rounds of the 2009 AORC will be held at Young (NSW) on September 12th and 13th.

The championships boasts classes for every level of rider, from Juniors older than nine-years to Clubman, Women, Veterans, Masters, Experts and championship-level racers.

The AORC are fantastic for spectators, with nail-biting action and the chance to get up close and personal with the stars of Australian enduro racing.

To enter or for more information please visit, contact Dirt Bike Promotions on 02 63624437 or 0438721024 or email [email protected].

Yamaha AORC Round 8 Top-10 Outright
Toby Price Class: E2 Bike: Kawasaki
Jarrod Bewley E2 Yamaha
Kirk Hutton E1 Yamaha
Ben Kearney E1 KTM
Stefan Merriman E2 Yamaha
Chris Hollis E1 Husqvarna
Josh Green E1 Kawasaki
Shannon Lewry E2 Husaberg
Geoff Braico E3 KTM
Damian Smith E1 KTM

Yamaha AORC Top-10 Outright (after round eight)
Stefan Merriman Points: 169
Toby Price 164
Jarrod Bewley 158
Chris Hollis 127
Ben Kearney 119
AJ Roberts 117
Ben Grabham 112
Kirk Hutton 105
Peter Boyle 101
Geoff Braico 84