News 23 Jun 2024

Larwood scores season-first MX2 overall win at Murray Bridge ProMX

Overall victory decided on countback as MX3 and MXW won by Woods and Cannon.

Image: Foremost Media.

South Australian Alex Larwood has earned his first overall win of the season at Murray Bridge’s fifth round of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship, the Honda Racing rider credited victory on countback over teammate Brodie Connolly.

Husqvarna-mounted Broc Flynn secured the moto one holeshot, leading the field ahead of Reid Taylor (Empire Kawasaki) and Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) in what was a fast-paced opening lap.

Championship leader Connolly wasted no time as he moved his way into the lead ahead of lap two, meanwhile, Minear and Flynn battled for P2 until an attempted pass went wrong for the factory KTM rider, who crashed heavily before quickly remounting.

Flynn soon had his hands full with hard-charging Larwood, the pair trading passes on multiple occasions before South Australian Larwood made it stick on lap four. The remainder of the outing proved to be uneventful as the field settled into position, Connolly went onto score a dominant 19.115s victory over teammate Larwood.

Rhys Budd (Raceline Husqvarna TDub Racing) was third ahead of Flynn and Minear, while the top 10 was locked out by Rian King (Honda), Cambell Williams (MotoGo Yamaha), Noah Ferguson (Honda Racing), Wilson Greiner-Daish (GasGas), and Ryder Kingsford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

It looked set to be another Connolly show in moto two as he was first around turn one, although a front-end wash-out just moments later in turn two saw him relegated down the order.

Larwood took advantage of the mistake and quickly went about building a lead, while Connolly remarkably got himself back to P2 within just a matter of laps. The damage was already done and only a mistake could slow down Larwood, as charged to the moto victory which ultimately granted him the overall win.

Connolly was second ahead of Minear, Kingsford, and Budd, as the top 10 was rounded out by Ferguson, Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Jack Kukas (Husqvarna), Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna TDub Racing), and Williams.

Overall, Larwood took the win on countback after equalling on points with Connolly, as Minear secured the final spot on the podium. Connolly continues to lead the championship by 20 points over Kingsford.

The MX3 category was dominated by GasGas-mounted Ky Woods, the youthful talent scoring a pair of race wins to defeat Jake Cannon (Honda Racing) and Koby Hantis (WBR Yamaha) – the latter still leading the standings with a 12-point advantage over Cannon.

Murray Bridge saw the return of the MXW division, which was once again dominated by defending champion Charli Cannon (Honda Racing), a pair of moto victories stretching her championship lead to 14 points. Emma Milesevic (Honda) and Taylor Thompson (Husqvarna) were second and third overall respectively.

The ProMX championship now heads to Toowoomba, Queensland, for round six on 21 July.

Detailed results