News 23 Jun 2024

Dominant Webster extends points lead with Murray Bridge victory

Beaton and Gibbs complete the podium at South Australia's fifth round of ProMX.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster has extended his MX1 points lead after a dominant day out in South Australia for round five of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship.

The opening moto was all about Webster as he led the field around turn one, and that would be the last they saw of him. Matt Moss (GasGas) and Luke Clout (Empire Kawasaki) initially trailed, as Pole Shootout winner Jed Beaton (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) found himself outside of the top 10.

Beaton made a number of quick passes and managed to get himself into second position by lap two, although by that point Webster had already stretched his lead to 12 seconds. In the meantime, Clout suffered a heavy crash, initially remounting before pulling out of the race with a suspected hand/wrist injury.

Webster went on to capture a commanding race win by 9.568s ahead of Beaton, while Kirk Gibbs (GasGas Racing Team), Brett Metcalfe (Penrite GO24), and Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) locked out the top five.

The top 10 was completed by Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna TDub Racing), Lars Van Berkel (Honda Racing), Joel Evans (Yamaha), Zach Watson (Husqvarna), and Levi Rogers (Beta).

Moto two saw Gibbs soar to the holeshot in front of a home crowd, where he initially led Evans and Metcalfe before Webster made quick work of the top three to lead the race. Beaton once again endured a poor start, although he was able to make a number of passes to trail Webster by lap two.

The gap remained around two seconds for the duration of the outing, although whatever Beaton tried, Webster was always able to respond. In the end, Webster crossed the line to secure both the moto and overall victory ahead of Beaton, as Gibbs crossed the line in P3.

Crawford was fourth – after a one position penalty for exceeding track limits – ahead of Van Berkel, while positions six through to 10 were taken out by Waters, Metcalfe, Watson, Evans, and Sam Larsen (Yamaha). Overall, it was Webster from Beaton and Gibbs – the Honda Racing entry extending his championship lead to seven points as the series heads to Toowoomba, Queensland, for round six on 21 July.

Detailed results