News 26 May 2024

MX2 title race intensifies as Kingsford claims Maitland win

Cannon back in championship contention with MX3 overall victory.

Image: Foremost Media.

The MX2 title race has intensified following Maitland’s fourth round of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship, where Ryder Kingsford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) emerged as the overall winner while points leader Brodie Connolly (Honda Racing) endured his first blemish of the season.

It was a frantic start to MX2 moto two as Rhys Budd (Raceline Husqvarna Racing) snatched the holeshot, only to be passed moments later by Noah Ferguson (Honda Racing). Budd challenged the Honda rider in the following turns, although Ferguson was able to break free.

Championship leader Connolly, who’s understood to be nursing a knuckle injury from a crash in race one yesterday, made a number of quick passes on lap one to promote himself to second.

The top five order constantly changed as Ferguson led the field, with Bailey Malkiewicz (Yamaha), Reid Taylor (Empire Kawasaki), Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team), and Connolly all featuring in a podium position.

Malkiewicz attempted an ambitious pass on Connolly during lap three, going down in the process, meanwhile, Taylor had latched on the back of Ferguson and looked set to challenge for the lead.

Ferguson responded, building a 7.902s as he crossed the line for an important victory over Taylor, while Alex Larwood (Honda Racing) put on an impressive charge to finish P3 at the chequered flag.

Honda-mounted Haruki Yokoyama edged out Minear for fourth, as the top 10 was completed by Budd, race one winner Kingsford, Connolly, Malkiewicz, and Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

Race three was largely uneventful until the final laps, as Yokoyama charged to a commanding holeshot before Taylor made a move for the lead. The Empire Kawasaki entry quickly established an advantage with Cosford in tow, as Honda Racing duo Connolly and Ferguson found themselves further down the order.

Taylor, who missed the opening moto with mechanical failure before the race even started, built a comfortable margin in front, leading every lap until seemingly suffering yet another heartbreaking mechanical issue with around two laps to go. He continued to circulate, salvaging what he could.

Kingsford capitalised to secure victory, fending off a final lap charge from Ferguson to secure his second moto win of the weekend, along with the overall victory.

Connolly hung on for third ahead of teammate Larwood, while positions six to 10 were taken out by Yokoyama, Cosford, Minear, Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna Racing), and Taylor. Overall, it was Kingsford on top of the podium, joined by Ferguson and Larwood. Connolly still leads the championship, although his lead has been cut down by 26 points where he now holds just a 12-point advantage over teammate Ferguson.

Honda Racing’s Jake Cannon emerged as the overall winner in MX3 with a 1-1-5 scorecard, edging out WBR Yamaha duo Koby Hantis – who regained the points lead – and Seth Burchell. The MX85 Cup and MX65 Futures were taken out by Seth Thomas (GasGas) and Lewis-Jay Carafa (KTM) respectively.

The ProMX championship returns to South Australia next in Murray Bridge, with round five scheduled for 23 June.

Detailed results