News 7 Apr 2024

Horsham ProMX tie sees Beaton emerge with MX1 points lead

Crawford credited second on count-back as Gibbs steps onto the podium.

Image: Foremost Media.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Jed Beaton is the new MX1 red-plate holder after being credited the overall win ahead of Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), the pair finishing the day equal on points after splitting race wins at Horsham’s round two of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship.

The opening MX1 encounter proved to be a thrilling affair that came right down to the final lap, although in the beginning, it was former points leader Kyle Webster (Honda Racing) who snatched the hole-shot and controlled the race throughout the early stages.

Crawford and Luke Clout (Empire Kawasaki) quickly locked into a battle, the pair almost coming together on multiple occasions before Clout made the pass for second stick.

At the 10-minute mark, Webster crashed out of the lead, allowing Clout, Crawford and Beaton by to remount his CRF450R in P4. Clout and Crawford were within striking distance of each other for the remainder of the moto with Beaton a fraction behind, however disaster struck for a blistering Clout with less than two minutes to go as he crashed out of the lead.

Crawford inherited the top spot as Beaton could sniff an opportunity for victory, the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy rider trying everything possible as Crawford nervously defended his lead. It wasn’t enough as Crawford crossed the line to secure his maiden MX1 moto win ahead of Beaton and Webster.

Clout recovered for fourth ahead of Kirk Gibbs (GasGas Racing Team), while the top 10 was completed by Wilson Todd (Honda Racing), Brett Metcalfe (Penrite GO24), Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna TDub Racing), Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and Joel Evans (Yamaha).

Multi-time MX2 champion Todd rocketed to the hole-shot in race two, the Honda Racing entry trailed by Clout throughout the opening turns before eventually being passed, with Ferris taking advantage as well to slot into second.

There was an array of passes being made in the opening laps, and Beaton was wasting no time on this occasion to position himself in a podium spot. At this point Ferris had manoeuvred his way into the lead, looking like a completely different rider to that in moto one, although a crash several laps later relegated him down the field.

Beaton eventually took control of the race with Crawford in tow, as a rejuvenated Gibbs putt on an incredible charge to force his way by Clout into third spot. The top three would finish in this order, with Beaton winning ahead of Crawford and Gibbs – the same order for the overall, too.

A late race pass granted Ferris fourth ahead of Webster, as Clout dropped down to sixth at the chequered flag. Metcalfe was seventh followed by Todd, Waters, Zach Watson (Husqvarna) and Levi Rogers (Beta).

Beaton’s overall win granted him the points lead, where he now holds a five-point advantage over former teammate Webster as the series heads to Gillman in South Australia for round three, scheduled for 5 May.

Detailed results