News 7 Apr 2024

Dominant Connolly extends MX2 advantage with Horsham ProMX win

Alsop and Townley secure MX3 and MX85 Cup overall victories.

Image: Foremost Media.

A dominant 1-1 scorecard has allowed Honda Racing’s Brodie Connolly to extend his MX2 championship lead to 26 points following today’s second round of the 2024 Penrite ProMX Championship in Horsham, Victoria.

In moto one it was Husqvarna-mounted privateer Broc Flynn who secured the hole-shot and early lead, although it was relatively short-lived as the Western Australian crashed halfway through lap one, claiming pole-sitter Noah Ferguson (Honda Racing) and Byron Dennis (GasGas Racing Team) in the process.

Connolly inherited the lead and never looked back, while Bailey Malkiewicz (Yamaha) and Rhys Budd (Raceline Husqvarna TDub Racing) followed in positions two and three respectively.

It was mostly an uneventful outing, however Ferguson’s woes continued with yet another fall, as Ryder Kingsford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), who qualified P2, also endured a pair of crashes.

In the end, it was Connolly who claimed a dominant win ahead of Malkiewicz and Budd, followed by Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) and Haruki Yokoyama (Honda) in his return to Australia.

Fifth through to 10th was completed by Dennis, Ben Novak (Honda), Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Ryley Fitzpatrick (Kawasaki) and Kaleb Barham (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), as Kingsford and Ferguson could only recover for 16th and 17th respectively.

It was once again a Connolly showcase in moto two, the New Zealander proving to be unstoppable – even with a late race challenge from teammate Ferguson – to clinch the race win and overall victory.

It was a highly impressive performance from Ferguson, who charged from outside of the top five to put a wheel to Connolly on the final lap, although he ultimately had to settle for second ahead of Kingsford.

Dennis and Barham were fourth and fifth respectively, followed by Yokoyama, Budd, Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna TDub Racing), Minear, Reid Taylor (Empire Kawasaki), and Cambell Williams (MotoGo Yamaha). Overall it was from Connolly from Budd and Dennis.

In the MX3 category, KTM-mounted Jet Alsop emerged with the overall win after registering 2-3 race results, while moto two winner Deacon Paice (KTM) and race one winner Koby Hantis completed the podium – the WBR Yamaha rider holding a six-point advantage in the championship standings.

In the first appearance of the MX85 Cup, Yamaha duo Levi Townley and Heath Davy split race wins to finish the day equal on points, although Townley got the overall win on count-back as Cooper Danaher (KTM) locked out the podium.

ProMX returns on 5 May at Gillman in South Australia, marking round three of the championship.

Detailed results