News 3 Mar 2024

Lawrence extends points lead with Daytona Supercross win

Career-first 250SX East victory for Red Bull KTM's Vialle.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC’s Jett Lawrence has put an end to Eli Tomac’s (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) dominant run of Daytona victories with a commanding win at the eighth round of Monster Energy Supercross, while Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) broke through for a career-first 250SX victory.

It was a dramatic start for Lawrence before the main event even got underway as his mechanics rushed to remove the plastic wrap on his rear tyre, successfully pulling it off a mere seconds before the gates dropped.

Despite the panic, Lawrence still managed to land a strong start inside the top five, but it was reigning champion Chase Sexton (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Tomac who initially led the field.

Overcoming a mistake on lap one, Lawrence was positioned third as the race looked set to be a thriller between the points leader, Sexton, and Tomac, while at the same time, Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC) experienced a heavy fall and ultimately retired from the race.

The three-way battle everyone hoped for wasn’t to be after Lawrence passed both Tomac and Sexton in a matter of seconds, securing the lead before quickly building an advantage.

The main event was largely uneventful as Lawrence stormed to a third win of the season, however a late charge from Tomac aboard his smoking YZ450F saw him pass Sexton with just two laps to go to finish second over the factory KTM rider.

Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha’s Cooper Webb made a late move on Ken Roczen (Progressive Insurance Ecstar Suzuki) for fourth, the pair locking out the top five. The top 10 was completed by Justin Cooper (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha), Malcolm Stewart (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), Dylan Ferrandis (Phoenix Racing Honda), Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Benny Bloss (Liqui Moly Beta Racing).

Marking round three for 250SX East, the main event got off to a chaotic start as Haiden Deegan (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) and Camera McAdoo (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) traded positions for first, but it was McAdoo who initially took the lead.

Deegan stalled in the opening laps to relinquish second to Seth Hammaker (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki), as Vialle put on a charge to pass both riders for P2 in the following laps.

McAdoo looked in control of the main event until a mistake at the halfway mark saw him go off track, Vialle capitalising to secure the lead. It was the last they saw of the factory KTM entry, as he gapped the field while storming to an incredible maiden victory.

The podium was rounded out by Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki duo McAdoo and Hammaker, while Deegan fended off Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull GasGas) to finish fourth and fifth respectively.

Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Coty Schock was a consistent sixth ahead of Jalek Swoll (Triumph Factory Racing), who narrowly edged out points leader Max Anstie (Fire Power Honda Racing) in an epic final lap battle – the pair separated by just 0.090s at the chequered flag. Marshal Weltin (Rock River Yamaha) and Daxton Bennick (Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha) locked out the top 10, while Anstie now holds a slender one-point lead in the 250SX East standings over McAdoo and Brown.

Monster Energy Supercross now heads Protective Stadium in Birmingham on 9 March for round nine of the series, as Lawrence and Anstie remain the championship leaders in the 450SX and 250SX East.

Detailed results