News 4 Feb 2024

Lawrence becomes first two-time winner of 2024 in Detroit

Redemption in opening round for 250SX East winner Forkner.

Image: Octopi Media.

Team Honda HRC 450SX newcomer Jett Lawrence put forward a dominant performance in Detroit to become the first two-time winner of Monster Energy Supercross 2024, as Austin Forkner won the 250SX East season-opener.

Lawrence – who also qualified quickest and won his heat race – hasn’t been on the podium since winning Anaheim 1, but at Ford Field he was effectively untouched after charging to the holeshot.

A runner-up result for Sexton (Red Bull KTM) saw him retake the points lead, joined on the podium by Ken Roczen (Progressive Ecstar Suzuki) in third position. Last week’s winner Cooper Webb (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) charged to fourth, with Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) filling the top-five.

Sixth now sees Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM) two points outside of the red plate, followed by Dylan Ferrandis (Phoenix Racing Honda), Hunter Lawrence (Team Honda HRC), Justin Cooper and his Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing teammate Eli Tomac 10th after dropping back down the order during the middle-to-late stages.

It’s now Sexton who holds the 450SX championship lead for the second time this season, a single point clear of Lawrence, who is in turn one more ahead of Plessinger leading into Glendale’s sixth round of the season next Saturday, 10 February.

Image: Octopi Media.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Forkner won the opening round of 250SX East, earning redemption after going wire-to-wire in Detroit.

One year on from crashing out of round one, Forkner fought back to control the main event with a winning margin of 2.557s ahead of Max Anstie (Fire Power Honda) and rookie Daxton Bennick (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing).

Carnage in the first turn took down the likes of Haiden Deegan (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing), top qualifier Pierce Brown (TLD Red Bull GasGas), Tom Vialle (Red Bull KTM), Cameron McAdoo and his Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki teammate Seth Hammaker – who was forced out altogether.

It was eventually Coty Schock (Muc-Off FXR ClubMX Yamaha) who finished fourth, with Brown recovering to fifth, while Triumph Racing’s debut resulted in P6 for Jalek Swoll. The top 10 was completed by newcomer Guillem Farres (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna), Marshal Weltin (Gizmo Mods Rock River Yamaha) and Chance Hymas (Team Honda HRC), who went down while in podium contention.

Further back, McAdoo made his way back to 15th, one position clear of Deegan, with Vialle a full three laps down to be credited 18th. Alongside Hammaker in registering a DNF was second of the factory Triumphs, debutant Evan Ferry who was also caught up in the first turn impact.

The eastern region will now take a single weekend off as the series travels back west to Glendale next Saturday, 10 February, marking round six of the 2024 season.

Image: Octopi Media.

Detailed results