News 14 Jan 2024

Defending 450SX champion Sexton wins wet San Francisco

Smith delivers Star Racing 250SX victory to claim the points lead.

Image: Octopi Media.

It was a wire-to-wire win for defending champion Chase Sexton in the toughest of conditions at San Francisco’s second round of the 2024 Monster Energy Supercross Championship, as Jordon Smith won the 250SX West main event.

Sexton holeshot the 450SX main event and managed the race from there, leading the entirety of the shortened race to head Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) by 7.459s as the checkered flag flew.

Completing the podium was Ken Roczen (Progressive Ecstar Suzuki), directly ahead of HEP Motorsports teammate Shane McElrath (Twisted Tea Suzuki), while top-qualifier Aaron Plessinger (Red Bull KTM) filled the top five after enduring his share of trouble in the race.

Positions six through 10 featured Dylan Ferrandis (Phoenix Racing Honda), opening heat winner Jorge Prado (Red Bull GasGas), Adam Cianciarulo (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Team Honda HRC’s Lawrence brothers, Jett and Hunter in that order. Following their podiums at the opener, Cooper Webb (Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing) and Jason Anderson (Monster Energy Kawasaki) were 11th and 12th.

It’s now Sexton who has reclaimed the red plate in the premier class, seven points ahead of Anaheim 1 winner Lawrence, and with Tomac climbing to third position in the title-chase just two rounds into the new season.

Image: Octopi Media.

A commanding ride from Smith saw the Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing veteran charge to his first victory in almost five years, jumping into the lead early and maintaining it from there.

A charging Levi Kitchen (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) climbed from as far back as ninth on the opening lap to finish within 0.913s in second position, also making it two podiums in a row to open the year alongside Smith.

Completing the podium was Garrett Marchbanks after making a last lap move on FXR ClubMX Yamaha teammate Phil Nicoletti – the pair almost a full minute back from the leaders. Finishing fifth was Carson Mumford (MotoConcepts Honda).

The final riders to remain on the lead-lap were Anthony Bourdon (BarX Suzuki), Joshua Varize (AJE Motorsports GasGas) and Hunter Yoder (Partzilla PRMX Kawasaki), with round one winner RJ Hampshire (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) and Mitchell Oldenburg (MotoConcepts Honda).

It’s now Smith who holds the championship advantage, five points clear of Kitchen, with Hampshire dropping to third following a race of attrition in the Bay Area. Round three of the 2024 Monster Energy Supercross Championship will be next Saturday in San Diego.

Image: Octopi Media.

Detailed results