News 24 Nov 2023

SX3 leader Ross sweeps series with Melbourne win

Cooper Ford claims CR22 85cc round and series win.

Image: Foremost Media.

Polyflor Honda Racing’s Parker Ross and KTM’s Cooper Ford wrapped up both the round and series development class victories inside Melbourne’s Marvel Stadium at the third round of the 2023 Fox Australian Supercross Championship.

American Ross put in another near-seamless performance at Melbourne’s Marvel Stadium to claim his third SX3 win from three starts to finish the series with a perfect 75-point scorecard.

It was Yamaha’s Seth Burchell who took the holeshot and early lead, as Ross picked his way through the pack, making the move for the lead in the later stages of the race and taking a 1.2-second victory.

Travis Olander (Husqvarna) rounded out the podium, with Yamaha riders Kobe Drew and Kayd Kingsford finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

In the series standings, Ross stood on top of the box, with Drew (53 points) and Kingsford (52 points) completing the podium.

Image: Foremost Media.In the CR22 85cc Cup, KTM’s Cooper Ford put in a great ride to finish more than 8.5 seconds clear of KTM rider Richie Lawler, while Jack Nunn (GasGas) finished third, which saw him consolidate his P2 spot in the series final points’ wash-up.

Lachlan Allen (KTM) and Cooper Bowman (Husqvarna) finished the night fourth and fifth.

In the final standings, Ford wrapped up the title with 86 points, ahead of Nunn (60) and Allen (56).

Detailed results