News 17 Nov 2023

MXGP rider line-up falling into place entering 2024 season

Grids continue to firm ahead of Argentina's opener next year.

Image: Foremost Media.

The rider line-up for next year’s MXGP World Championship is falling into place and the grids continue to firm ahead of the 2024 season.

Defending world champion Jorge Prado aims for back-to-back titles with Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing, set to make a bid for his second premier class championship.

Kawasaki Racing Team will field a powerhouse roster, with former world champion Romain Febvre joined by the highly-capable and proven race winner Jeremy Seewer. The Swiss rider makes the switch from Monster Energy Yamaha for 2024, replacing outbound Mitch Evans as the future of the Australian rider is currently unclear.

Yamaha Motor Europe previously announced a restructure of its operations, and starting in 2024, the Yamaha Factory MXGP Team will be managed by the highly-experienced Hans Corvers. A new-look Monster Energy Yamaha MXGP line-up for next year will see Jago Geerts transition to the 450 class, as Calvin Vlaanderen joins the factory outfit alongside existing team member Maxime Renaux.

Former world champion Tim Gajser will spearhead an unchanged Team HRC MXGP assault, joined once more by Spaniard Ruben Fernandez for the 2024 campaign.

Jeffrey Herlings is back with Red Bull KTM Factory Racing following a heavily injury-disrupted 2023 season, while Mattia Guadagnini makes the switch to Nestaan Husqvarna Factory Racing for next season.

New to the championship for 2024, Fantic Factory Racing will boast the line-up of Roan van de Moosdijk and Glenn Coldenhoff, while also of note, Kevin Horgmo will step up from MX2 to compete on a CRF450R with Shiptocycle Honda Motoblouz SR.

Looking at MX2, current number one Andrea Adamo will remain in the category for 2024, joined in the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing team by Liam Everts and Sacha Coenen again, who recently inking a multi-year contract extension with the program.

Likewise, Lucas Coenen has extended his contract on a multi-year deal with Nestaan Husqvarna Factory Racing, and will remain alongside Kay de Wolf as the pair aim for world championship glory. A mix of youth and experience feature in Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing’s latest MX2 line-up, with EMX250 graduate Marc-Antonie Rossi joining Simon Langenfelder onboard an MC 250F.

The Hutten Metaal Yamaha team will step up to the world championship in 2024 as the Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MX2 Team. Thibault Benistant and Rick Elzinga have been retained for 2024, while EMX250 champion, Andrea Bonacorsi takes the next step up the Yamaha Racing pyramid to MX2.

Anticipation surrounds the new entry of Monster Energy Triumph Racing in MX2 next year, with Mikkel Haarup and Camden McLellan to debut the new platform in the 2024 series, which commences with the MXGP of Patagonia-Argentina between 9-10 March.