News 11 Nov 2023

Wilson and Anstie set hot pace in Newcastle qualifying

The fields are set for the crucial second round of the championship.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing internationals Dean Wilson and Max Anstie have set the standard for the crucial second round of the 2023 Fox Australian Supercross Championship, logging the fastest qualifying times inside Newcastle’s McDonald Jones Stadium.

Two intense laps at the end of the session saw Honda Racing’s Dean Wilson set a high bar during the SX1 qualifying session.

In hot conditions, the Scottish-born rider posted a final time of 42.124s, to unseat early pace-setter Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) by 0.83s.

A further 0.3s adrift, Justin Brayton (Honda Racing) secured third pick of the gate for his efforts, as Kyle Webster ensured three of the top four qualifiers were claimed by the Honda Racing camp.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Josh Hill finished the session in fifth, as Dylan Wills (Husqvarna), Joel Wightman (Yamaha), Jackson Richardson (Kawasaki), Liam Jackson (KTM) and Dylan Wood (Honda) rounded out the top 10 fastest times.

Image: Foremost Media.

Polyflor Honda Racing’s Max Anstie led a Honda 1-2 in SX2 qualifying, as he set a scorching final lap around the McDonald Jones Stadium.

Anstie led most of the session, but logged a 43.090s final lap to beat his Honda Racing team-mate, Wilson Todd by 0.9s.

Serco Yamaha’s Cole Thompson finished hot on Todd’s heels, just 0.05 adrift, as Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) and Ryder Kingsford¬† (WBR Yamaha) filled the remaining top five places.

American Robbie Wageman (WBR Yamahga) finished sixth-fastest, ahead of the quickest of the unseeded riders, Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha).

The remaining top 10 lap-times were set by Yamalube Yamaha Racing duo Jayce Cosford and Kaleb Barham, and Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team).

Detailed results