News 16 Oct 2023

AORC champions crowned across Dungog final rounds

Season 2023 concludes following action in New South Wales.

Image: Foremost Media.

The 2023 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) concluded in Dungog with champions crowned across the classes during the final rounds in New South Wales.

In the E1 category, ShopYamaha Off-Road Racing’s Kyron Bacon was victorious on both days, the Tasmanian continuing his rapid form since missing the QMP rounds earlier this year due to injury.

Yamaha-mounted Cooper Sheidow ultimately took the championship spoils in the E1 class, going 2-3 across the final rounds as Korey McMahon (GasGas) also featured on the podium thanks to 3-2 performances in Dungog.

More championship success was added to the cabinet of Josh Green, the ShopYamaha Off-Road Racing rider going 2-5 across the final rounds to secure back-to-back titles in E2 and his first outright championship.

Jonte Reynders (Sherco) set a rapid pace and led the way on both days in Kyogle, while GasGas-equipped Jye Dickson completed the E2 podium on day one, and Fraser Higlett and Andy Wilksch were inside the top three in class at round 12.

E3 championship spoils went to KTM rider Riley McGillivray, who delivered a commanding final round to secure the title in a fight that went right down to the wire. Round 11 winner Stefan Granquist (Husqvarna) put in a credible effort in his bid for the championship, winning on Saturday in NSW and then finishing the final round in the runner-up position. Simford Motorsport Group’s Sam Pretscherer was third on both days in class.

Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha JGR Ballard’s Off-Road) added another EW title to her immensely impressive list of accomplishments, wrapping up the championship in convincing fashion with 1-1 results across the final rounds. Meanwhile, Beta racer Ebony Nielsen was second on both days in New South Wales while Emelie Karlsson (Husqvarna) completed the top three at rounds 11 and 12.

Additionally, Will Dennett (Yamaha) wrapped up the EJ championship and scored 1-1 results across the final rounds, while Danielle McDonald claimed her second AORC JG championship.

Detailed results