News 7 Oct 2023

Energised Wilson strikes first with AUSX win at Adelaide

SX1 victory gives Honda Racing a clean sweep of class wins at opening round.

Image: Foremost Media.

An energised Dean Wilson gave Honda Racing a perfect start to the 2023 Fox Australian Supercross Championship at Adelaide, with a convincing win in the SX1 final.

Wilson had made his intentions clear from the start of the day when he beat his team-mate and five-time champion Justin Brayton to pole position, then comfortably won his heat race.

However, come the final, it was Empire Kawasaki’s Matt Moss who surged to one of the best starts of the night, to claim the holeshot ahead of the Scottish-born Honda rider.

Moss’s lead didn’t last long though – within a few short, sharp laps, Wilson found an opening, quickly dove into the lead and never looked back, eventually taking the checkered flag by almost 4.7 seconds.

Moss held onto second for most of the race, but a late mistake allowed Brayton – who had lurked near Moss’s rear wheel for most of the race – to slip by.

Fourth, fifth and sixth went to CDR Yamaha Monster Energy team-mates Josh Hill, Luke Clout and Aaron Tanti, the latter of whom had to overcome a slower start.

Similarly, Kyle Webster  (Honda Racing) crashed on the opening lap and worked hard to finish seventh, ahead of Luke Zielinski (Yamaha), Jackson Richardson (Kawasaki) and Bailey Malkiewicz (WBR Yamaha), who crashed hard on the sixth lap.

The second round of the Australian Supercross Championship will be held at Newcastle on 11 November.

Detailed results