News 7 Oct 2023

Anstie begins SX2 title defence with Adelaide AUSX victory

American Parker Ross takes last-gasp SX3 win as Mather crashes out.

Image: Foremost Media.

A relentless performance from Honda Racing’s Max Anstie saw the defending SX2 champion take the first win of the 2023 Fox Australian Supercross Championship at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre.

After comfortably winning his heat race earlier in the night Anstie scored a good holeshot in the 15-lap SX2 final, and never looked back as he charged around the tight Adelaide circuit to finish 5.37s ahead of American Robbie Wageman.

Wageman, who’s riding the series for WBR Yamaha, stayed within touch of Anstie for the first half of the race before he lost contact with the flying Honda rider.

Wilson Todd (Honda Racing) put in a measured, consistent race to finish on the final spot of the podium, while Serco Yamaha’s Cole Thompson and Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Jayce Cosford began their 2023 campaign by finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

Liam Atkinson (KTM) , Ryder Kingsford (WBR Yamaha) and Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) finished sixth through eighth, ahead of Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), who crashed early on.

Reid Taylor (Husqvarna) DNFed after also crashing midway through the race.

It was also a disappointing night for Serco Yamaha’s Rhys Budd; after topping the qualifying timesheets earlier in the day, he was passed on the last corner of the last-chance qualifier, and failed to make the final.

Image: Foremost Media.

In SX3, American Parker Ross (Repco M9 Honda Racing) made a final-turn move on Kayd Kingsford (Yamaha GYTR Junior Racing) to take a last-gasp win.

Kobe Drew ( Yamaha GYTR Junior Racing) finished the main event in second, while Cambell Williams (Empire Kawasaki) put in a clean race to finish on the podium.

Defending champion and top qualifier, Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) crashed early in the main event and was forced to DNF with a damaged bike, putting a serious dent in his title defence.

Kingsford, who led 99 per cent of the race, crossed the line in a disappointing sixth.

In the CR22 85cc final, NSW’s Jack Nunn (GasGas) took a good win over Lachlan Allen (KTM), with Dejan Sankovic (KTM) completing the podium placings.

The second round of the Australian Supercross Championship will be held at Newcastle on 11 November.

Detailed results