News 7 Oct 2023

Adelaide AUSX qualifying led by Wilson and Budd

Slender margins seperate riders in both classes as the three-round championship begins.

Honda Racing’s Dean Wilson and Serco Yamaha’s Rhys Budd have topped the time-sheets inside the Adelaide Entertainment Centre, as the opening round of the 2023 Fox Australian Supercross Championship gets underway.

Wilson made a late charge to the top of the SX1 qualifying charts, and established himself as the man to beat come the night show at Adelaide.

Wilson beat his team-mate and five-time Australian Supercross Champion Justin Brayton to pole, with his 21.498s lap-time being 0.2s faster than Brayton’s.

Empire Kawasaki’s Matt Moss stole the third-quickest spot from CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Josh Hill, while Kyle Webster ensured all three Honda Racing riders finished inside the top five.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy pairing Aaron Tanti and Luke Clout finished sixth and seventh-fastest respectively, ahead of Bailey Malkiewicz (WBR Yamaha) and privateers Jackson Richardson (Kawasaki) and Joel Wightman (Yamaha).

Image: Foremost Media.

Serco Yamaha’s Rhys Budd put down a scorcher of a lap in the SX2 qualifying session to claim pole position ahead of the night show.

Budd beat defending champion Max Anstie by the barest of margins around the tight circuit, with his 22.013 lap-time edging the Englishman by just 0.06s.

Another 0.67s adrift was KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford, as Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd finished the session fourth-fastest after a last-lap effort, and Reid Taylor (Husqvarna) filled the top five.

Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), American Robbie Wageman (WBR Yamaha), Canadian Cole Thompson (Serco Yamaha), Ryder Kingsford (WBR Yamaha) and rookie Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) completed the top 10 positions.

In the SX3 class, Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing rider Jack Mather claimed pole position, with a lap-time of 233.599s, beating Victorian Parker Ross (Honda) and NSW’s Kayd Kingsford (Yamaha GYTR Junior Racing Team) for the first gate choice honours.

Detailed results