News 5 Oct 2023

KTM Racing Team focused on 250-only program in AUSX

Race-winning Crawford and youthful Minear form SX2 line-up.

Image: Supplied.

A 250-only program is the focus of the KTM Racing Team for the 2023 Fox Australian Supercross Championship (AUSX), after it was determined that Nathan Crawford would remain in SX2 alongside rookie Kayden Minear.

Regular team MX1 rider Kirk Gibbs was again on a motocross-only contract for the current season and last year’s factory SX1 rider Brett Metcalfe is instead within his own GO24 KTM program for the upcoming season.

Crawford, 26, finished third in points onboard a 250 SX-F in last year’s AUSX championship and delivered a stellar 2023 campaign in the MX2 division of the Penrite ProMX Championship, looking to convert that race-winning momentum to finish on the top step of the podium in the stadiums.

“This is always one of my favourite times of the year, I really enjoy racing supercross and think it matches my style and technique well,” Crawford said. “We finished third overall last year – the first of the Australians – so my goal is to finish two steps higher this year. I’ve got the team behind me, the bike, trainer… everything is in place for me to go out there and do my job across these three rounds.”

As for 16-year-old Minear, he lines up for his first season of professional-level supercross competition eager to learn and build as each of the three rounds progress.

“I’m making my professional debut in supercross this year and, so far, have really enjoyed myself in the lead-up,” he explained. “It’s very different compared to outdoors, with a bunch more techniques to learn and you have to be perfect.

“I’m out there to learn and put in some good results this year, but also to see the way the field races. I know it’s tight, intense, and especially with these tighter arenas like Adelaide, starts will be very important. I’m stoked to race and thank you to the team for getting me comfortable!”

This year’s Australian Supercross Championship is comprised of three rounds, beginning with South Australia’s season-opener within the Adelaide Entertainment Centre on Saturday. From there, the AUSX series will return to Newcastle’s McDonald Jones Stadium on 11 November, before concluding at Melbourne’s Marvel Stadium on 24 November for the finale.