News 15 Sep 2023

International MXoN teams taking shape with Team USA addition

Defending champions to field Plessinger, Craig and Hampshire.

Image: Octopi Media.

The teams that will compete in the 2023 Motocross of Nations (MXoN) at Ernee continue to take shape, with Team USA the latest to reveal its rider line-up for the prestigious event this year in France.

Aaron Plessinger is set to wear number one as the squad’s MXGP entry, the Red Bull KTM rider making his second MXoN appearance after finishing third in the Pro Motocross 450MX standings.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna regulars RJ Hampshire and Christain Craig will complete the team, with Hampshire to wear number two in MX2 and Craig returning from injury as number three in the Open category.

With 450MX champion Chase Sexton transferring from Honda to KTM – yet to be confirmed – and Eli Tomac recovering from injury, plus Justin Cooper being unavailable due to his wedding date, the Plessinger, Hampshire and Craig combination is an all-new line-up for the 2023 event scheduled from 6-8 October.

Additionally, Ken Roczen (HEP Suzuki) will spearhead Team Germany’s effort, with the country’s line-up completed by Simon Laengenfelder (MX2) and Tom Koch (Open).

Last year’s runner-up, Team France will bring a capable squad to its home event, with in-form MXGP contender Romain Febvre to spearhead the nation’s bid to capture the Chamberlain Trophy once more, while US-based double MX2 world champion Tom Vialle will represent in MX2, and Maxime Renaux will be in Open.

Team Belgium will boast the high-profile roster of Jago Geerts in MXGP, alongside highly-rated teenage talent Lucas Coenen (MX2) and fellow MX2 regular Liam Everts in Open. All three usually ride 250s, however, Geerts did race a 450 last year at the MXoN event.

MXGP World Championship leader Jorge Prado will represent Team Spain in Open, with Ruben Fernandez contesting MXGP and David Braceras in MX2. Current MX2 World Championship red plate-holder Andrea Adamo is set to fly the flag for Italy in MX2, joined by Alberto Forato (MXGP) and Mattia Guadagnini (Open) in the Italian effort.

A powerful Team Netherlands will consist of Calvin Vlaanderen (MXGP), Kay de Wolf (MX2) and Glenn Coldenhoff (Open), while Jeremy Seewer will lead Team Switzerland’s charge in MXGP.

As previously covered, AMA Pro Motocross 450MX champion Jett Lawrence will lead Australia as its MXGP entry, while 250MX champion Hunter Lawrence will continue as the team’s MX2 rider.

Joining the Lawrence brothers this time around will be former longtime world championship regular Ferris, the crafty 33-year-old who delivered a commanding season upon returning to Yamaha to capture his fourth Australian premier class crown.