News 19 Aug 2023

Honda Racing duo Beaton and Todd top Coolum ProMX qualifying

Saturday motos include Cannon winning and MXV champions crowned.

Image: Foremost Media.

The stage is set for tomorrow’s final round of the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores, with Honda Racing’s Jed Beaton topping the Thor MX1 timesheets and Wilson Todd claiming the Pirelli MX2 pole position.

It was a dominant day from the red corner, with Beaton’s 1m44.378s edging teammate Kyle Webster – who was quickest in practice – by 0.648s this afternoon.

Third was Caloundra Motorcycle Centre-backed Yamaha privateer Levi Rogers, the premier class rookie ahead of Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) and Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team), who filled the top five on Saturday.

Sixth was championship leader Dean Ferris (Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha), who will carry a 15-point lead into the finals over Beaton, while outgoing champion Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) was next in line, followed by Brett Metcalfe (Penrite GO24 KTM), Joel Evans (Honda) and Luke Zielinski (Yamaha).

Image: Foremost Media.

Defending champion Todd set the benchmark in this afternoon’s MX2 qualifying with a 1m46.306s despite being a lowly P7 in practice earlier on, leading Honda Racing teammate Brodie Connolly.

Slotting into P3 was practice pace-setter Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team), also lapping within a second of Todd. Fourth-fastest came Nathan Crawford, directly ahead of KTM Racing Team teammate Kayden Minear.

Sixth through 10th included Ryder Kingsford (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha), Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), Liam Andrews (Spectro Elliott Bros Racing Honda), Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha) and Caleb Ward (Husqvarna).

Maxxis MX3 was led by GasGas-mounted points-leader Byron Dennis, his 1m46.683s leading Jake Cannon (GYTR Yamaha Junior Racing) and Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna). Fellow Husqvarna rider Liam Owens was next in line, with Connor Towill (KTM) fifth following a penalty.

The opening races of the weekend included moto one of the Ezilift MXW class, which was won by number one plate-holder Charli Cannon (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), 26.429s ahead of Tayla McCutcheon (Empire Kawasaki) and with Taylor Thompson (GasGas) P3. Honda teammates Tahlia O’Hare and co-red plate-holder Emma Milesevic completed the top five.

Today also saw the MXV champions crowned following a pair of motos each, with Steve Powell (Husqvarna) winning the 40-plus overall from Cameron Taylor (Honda) and Barry Surawski, with Dean Porter (Honda) standing atop the 30-39 years podium ahead of Luke Weaver (Husqvarna) after they split wins and Justin Carafe (KTM) in third.

Detailed results