News 13 Aug 2023

QMP qualifying charge led by Beaton and Todd

The fields are set for the seventh round of the ProMX Championship.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing riders topped the qualifying time sheets at the penultimate round of the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship at Queensland Moto Park, with Jed Beaton and Wilson Todd claiming fastest-lap honours.

Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Jed Beaton put in a scorching qualifying lap in the top 10 pole shootout to head the MX1 field.

Beaton was the only rider to dip below the 1m49s mark, with a 1m48.584s, the best part of a full second better than early pole-sitter Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy).

Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster finished the shootout in third, ahead of Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team) and series leader Dean Ferris (Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha).

Davey Motorsports KTM’s Hamish Harwood finished sixth, as Zach Watson (Honda), Brett Metcalfe (GO24 KTM) and Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) finished P7 through P9. Top 10 qualifier Joel Evans (Honda) didn’t take part in the shootout.

Image: Foremost Media.

Terrafirma Honda Racing’s MX2 series leader Wilson Todd topped the MX2 qualifying charts as racing got under way.

In sunny, cool conditions, the Queenslander chopped 1.5s off the lap-time of early leader Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) to take the top spot with a time of 1m50.905s.

Ferguson put in a last-lap charge to try and retake the top spot, but finished 1.021s off Todd’s best time.

KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford finished the session in third, ahead of team-mate Kayden Minear and Serco Yamaha’s Rhys Budd.

Polyflor Honda Racing rider Brodie Connolly finished sixth-fastest, the Kiwi beating GasGas privateer Taylor Reid, while returning riders Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Ryder Kingsford (WBR Yamaha), and KTM’s Ryan Alexanderson completed the top 10.

GYTR Yamaha Junior Racing Team’s Jake Cannon topped the MX3 qualifying sessions with a quickest laptime of 1m53.879s.

His best lap was 0.7s quicker than Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing’s Jack Mather, who topped the second group of MX3 riders. GasGas’s Ky Woods finished third-quickest when both groups were combined.

In the MXW class, defending champion Charli Cannon (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) put daylight between herself and the rest of the competition, with her fastest lap of 2m01.065s being 3.7s quicker than Emma Milesevic (Honda), while Madison Healey (Honda) finished the session third fastest.

Detailed results