News 17 Jul 2023

Three in a row for Febvre with Czech MXGP overall

Back-to-back wins for Geerts with MX2 victory at round 12.

Image: Supplied.

Kawasaki Racing Team’s Romain Febvre continued his strong form as he took his third round win in a row with a victory at the MXGP of the Czech Republic, while in MX2, Monster Energy Yamaha’s Jago Geerts made it back-to-back overalls.

Febvre took a commanding win in moto one, passing qualifying race winner and red plate-holder, Jorge Prado (Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing) early in the encounter and never looking back. Monster Energy Yamaha’s Jeremy Seewer would eventually get the better of Prado also, with the pair finishing the opening moto in P2 and P3.

Febvre looked set to repeat with a victory in moto two, but a small crash on lap 16 of 19 handed the lead and race win to a hard-charging Calvin Vlaanderen (Team Gebben Van Venroy Yamaha Racing), with Febvre eventually recovering to finish P4. The ever-consistent Prado finished the moto in P2, 4.404 seconds behind Vlaanderen, with Seewer completing the podium in third.

Prado’s 3-2 results were good enough for P2 overall, the Spaniard keeping a firm grip on his 104-point championship lead, while third place overall for the Grand Prix was Seewer.

Also featuring inside the top five, Team Gebben Van Venroy Yamaha Racing’s Calvin Vlaanderen (5-1) and Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team’s Glenn Coldenhoff (4-7) completed the Czech MXGP fourth and fifth overall.

Australia’s Mitch Evans (Kawasaki Racing Team) rode to a strong P7 in the opening moto, later finishing P11 in the final moto of the day. His 7-11 results were good enough for a top 10 overall, finishing the round P9.

Image: Supplied.

In MX2 race one, Jago Geerts got off to the holeshot, with Kevin Horgmo (F&H Kawasaki Racing Team) following close by. Despite a late race charge, Horgmo would settle for P2, 2.248 seconds behind race winner Geerts, with P3 going to Kay de Wolf (Nestaan Husqvarna Factory Racing).

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Andrea Adamo was involved in a first-turn crash involving multiple riders. Adamo would get up quickly and cross the line at the end of lap one in 12th, but an incident on lap two with Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MX2 Team’s Rick Elzinga would see him go down again, eventually crossing the finish line in 13th.

In race two, Simon Laegenfelder (Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing) rocketed out of the gates and looked set for victory, but MX2 championship leader Adamo was on a mission. After crossing the finish sixth on lap one, Adamo charged his way to the head of the pack to take a commanding victory in race two, ahead of Laegenfelder and Geerts.

1-3 in the motos saw Geerts take the overall win, ahead of Simon Laegenfelder in second (4-2) and Kay de Wolf in third (3-4). Completing the top five were Kevin Horgmo and red plate holder Andrea Adamo in P4 and P5.

Adamo maintains the MX2 championship lead with 506 points, 28 points clear of de Wolf in second and Geerts a further seven points back.

Detailed results