News 3 Jul 2023

Commanding Semmens claims 2023 Hattah Desert Race victory

Simpson and McMahon complete outright podium at iconic event.

Image: Foremost Media.

The 2023 Penrite Hattah Desert Race has been won and run with Mason Semmens standing tall at the notoriously tough event this year.

The US-based Trail Jester KTM Racing Team rider – who was runner-up two years ago – ultimately completed the race with a total time of 4h28m13.519s after taking charge at the midway mark.

Finishing the event in second was Jack Simpson (Husqvarna), posting a time of 4h31m26.325s as GasGas-mounted Korey McMahon was third, just over two minutes behind Simpson on the final classification. Angus Riordan (KTM) and Corey Hammond (KTM) completed the top five, while notably top 10 shootout leader Callum Norton (KTM) encountered troubles early on and was later classified 47th in class.

Semmens also topped the 251cc-450cc four-stroke class ahead of McMahon and Riordan, as Simpson was the fastest in the over 450cc four-stroke category, leading Hammond and Brodie Waters (KTM). In the up to 250 four stroke category, Thomas Mason (KTM) was victorious with William Price (Kawasaki) and Tyran Tomich (GasGas) completing the top three.

Honda racer Emma Milesevic scored her third Hattah victory with a commanding performance in the Ladies eight laps race, ahead of Madi Healey (Honda) and Emelie Karlsson (Husqvarna).

Detailed results