News 25 Jun 2023

Solid Crawford takes MX2 Toowoomba round win

MX3 championship leader Dennis builds points buffer with consistent performance.

Image: Foremost Media.

A strong day of racing at Toowoomba’s Echo Valley saw KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford emerge as the MX2 winner at the sixth round of the Penrite Australian ProMX Championship.

Crawford split race wins with series leader, Wilson Todd (Terrafirma Honda Racing), as the Honda rider minimised any damage to his comfortable points margin, while GasGas Racing Team’s Noah Ferguson was impressive in third overall.

Crawford charged from inside the pack to win the opening MX2 moto.

Polyflor Honda Racing’s Brodie Connolly grabbed the holeshot, but it was short-lived as  Ferguson quickly jumped into the lead and began pulling away.

Crawford worked his way through the pack from P9 on the opening lap and onto the rear wheel of Ferguson, making the pass with 10 minutes remaining and tearing away to a 7.98-second victory.

Ferguson and  Todd finished inside the top three, ahead of Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha) and Liam Andrews (Honda), who snuck past Connolly on the final lap.

Positions seventh through 10th were filled by Ryan Alexanderson (KTM), Haruki Yokoyama (Empire Kawasaki), Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) and Kaleb Barham (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

Series leader Wilson Todd withstood race-long pressure from Crawford to take a wire-to-wire win in the second MX2 moto.

On a drying track, Todd eventually took a 3.6-second win over Crawford, who settled for the round overall late in the race, while a hard-charging Noah Ferguson finished P3 after circulating on the cusp of the top 10 in the early laps.

Connolly and Budd would finish fourth and fifth respectively, as Alexanderson, Barham, Yokoyama, Liam Andrews (Honda) and Minear completed the top 10.

Todd remains in control of the points battle with a 35-point lead over Crawford, while Connolly sits in third, a further 19 markers back.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the MX3 class, GasGas racer Byron Dennis continued to extend his points lead after claiming the round overall, despite not taking a race win at Toowoomba.

Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) claimed the opening race win, but was docked two positions in the second moto, to finish that moto in P5.

Meanwhile, Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Jake Cannon convincingly won the second moto.

The top three for the day were Dennis, Mather and Liam Owens (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing).

In the championship, Dennis now has a 25-point lead over Mather, with Cannon now in third.

The ProMX Championship now takes a six-week break, returning for the penultimate round at Queensland Moto Park on 13 August.

Detailed results