News 25 Jun 2023

Perfect Toowoomba performance sees Ferris regain ProMX lead

Three-time champion takes six-point series lead after double-moto victory.

Image: Foremost Media.

Three-time champion Dean Ferris has again taken control of the Penrite Australian ProMX MX1 championship after an emphatic double-moto victory at Toowoomba.

Ferris was in a class of his own as he took the series lead from second-placed Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Jed Beaton, while CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Aaron Tanti finished the day in third overall.

The Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha-mounted Ferris won the opening MX1 moto comfortably with a commanding performance; he grabbed the holeshot and was never challenged as he rode to a 13-second win.

Beaton started the race outside the top 10, but made some valuable late passes to ultimately finish second.

Beaton’s cause was helped after Tanti – who’d held P2 until the final lap – crashed in the dying stages of the race and recovered to finish fifth.

Tanti’s mistake promoted Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) onto the podium after a strong race, while Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team) finished P4.

Kyle Webster (Boost Mobile Honda Racing) completed his race in sixth after running in the top three early, ahead of Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM), Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), Brett Metcalfe (GO24 Racing) and Zachary Watson (Honda).

Ferris made it two from two with another comfortable win in the second moto.

The Kyogle-based racer tore off the gate to claim his second holeshot of the day and lead the pack early, but a great pass by Tanti saw CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s defending champion inherit the lead.

It was only temporary, though, as a Tanti mistake at the top of the circuit saw Ferris again take control of the race and claim the checkered flag by 15-seconds.

Beaton finished the race in third after circulating in seventh early on, as Gibbs and Webster rounded out the top five.

Finishing in the top 10 were Clout, Watson, Harwood, Metcalfe and Joel Evans (Honda).

Ferris now leads the championship by six points over Beaton, while Tanti is another 13 markers back in third.

The ProMX Championship now takes a six-week break, returning for the penultimate round at Queensland Moto Park on 13 August.

Detailed results