News 25 Jun 2023

Crawford and Tanti top Toowoomba qualifying

The fields are set for the sixth round of the ProMX Championship.

Image: Foremost Media.

KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford and CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Aaron Tanti have set the early pace at the Toowoomba round of the Penrite Australian ProMX Championship.

Crawford claimed the fastest MX2 qualifying time with a 1m50.278s lap around the Echo Valley circuit, controlling the session by almost a second over Terrafirma Honda Racing’s Wilson Todd. The series-leading Honda rider put in a solid last lap to close the gap to .101s, but couldn’t match Crawford’s pace.

GasGas Racing Team’s Noah Ferguson also logged a fastest final lap to finish in a top three position, ahead of Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha) and Kaleb Barham (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

Polyflor Honda Racing’s Brodie Connolly finished the session in sixth, while Haruki Yokoyama (Empire Kawasaki), Ryley Fitzpatrick (KTM), Blake Fox (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) and Ryan Alexanderson (KTM) filled the remaining top 10 positions.

Image: Foremost Media.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s defending champion Aaron Tanti set the pace in the first MX qualifying session, with a 1m49.018s lap-time, more than half a second quicker than Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha rider Dean Ferris.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Racing’s Luke Clout put in a strong final lap, to pip KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs for third.

Boost Mobile Honda team-mates Jed Beaton and Kyle Webster finished the session in P5 and P6, ahead of Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing), Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM), Luke Zielinski (Yamaha) and Brett Metcalfe (GO24 Racing).

In the MX3 class, Jake Cannon (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) put in a strong lap to finish the session 1.207s ahead of Cambell Williams (Empire Kawasaki) and Connor Towill (KTM).

Detailed results