News 16 Jun 2023

Eight-rider Honda roster to capitalise on short AUSX series

High-profile list of internationals in line for 2023 championship.

Imager: Foremost Media.

An international roster at Honda Racing will see the defending champion team field as many as eight riders in the 2023 Fox Australian Supercross Championship (AUSX) in an effort to capitalise on the shortened three-round series, headlined by five-time SX1 title-winner Justin Brayton and reigning SX2 number one Max Anstie.

According to team owner Yarrive Konsky, the importance of AUSX is immense despite its limited schedule, with both results and the opportunity for exposure in the stadium environment offering added commercial incentives.

In the 450 premier class, Brayton is due to be joined by Fire Power Honda regular Dean Wilson, as well as Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster and Jed Beaton with the option to contest AUSX, while the 250 class will feature Anstie alongside national MX2 champion Wilson Todd, Brodie Connolly and Gage Linville.

“The Australian Supercross Championship is watched by more than one million people across trackside spectators, TV viewers and through social media,” Konsky told MotoOnline. “Honda wants its position to contend for the championship and it’s our objective to defend our championships by having a strong team.

“We believe Brayton can win his sixth championship and we know Dean would like to win his first. We don’t count out the teams and their riders, so we hired both 450 guys. We also have Kyle, who showed promise last year, and Jed has the option to race. In the 250 class, we will have four riders in Max, Gage, Brodie and Wilson. I might even look at either one more 450 rider or 250 rider to complete our roster.”

Konsky is drawing from his full line-up of international teams, operating as the factory-backed Honda team in Australian ProMX alongside AUSX, while also fielding full-time programs in Monster Energy AMA Supercross and the World Supercross Championship (WSX). Anstie finished third in the final 250SX East standings this year, while Ken Roczen’s WSX crown came within Konsky’s program last season.

This year’s AUSX championship is currently set to drop the gates on 11 November at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle, before heading to Melbourne’s Marvel Stadium on 24 November for round two, with the final round one week later at Adelaide Showgrounds on 2 December.