News 1 Jun 2023

Defending champion Brayton in for 2023 AUSX season

Set to compete for sixth-straight SX1 title with Honda Racing team.

Image: Foremost Media.

Australian Supercross Championship (AUSX) number one Justin Brayton has re-signed for Honda Racing, set to compete in the 2023 season for a record sixth-straight SX1 title.

Brayton, 39, has won five premier class SX1 titles with the Yarrive Konsky-owned team, between 2016-2019 and then last year once again when the championship returned.

The announcement follows his confirmation to compete in the World Supercross Championship (WSX) again in 2023, despite not racing in the US any longer, this time joining Fire Power Honda – also operated as part of Konsky’s international program – after lining up with MotoConcepts Honda in WSX last season.

“Australia is like a second home and I am excited to return to defend my Australian Supercross Championship title,” Brayton commented. “I am certainly not ready to retire – if I didn’t feel like I could be competitive I wouldn’t race.

“There are some exceptional riders in Australia. The likes of [Aaron] Tanti, [Luke] Clout, [Matt] Moss, [Kyle] Webster, to name a few, as well as other international riders. This will be my toughest defence yet. Honda Australia and Yarrive have been great to me and my family, and the Australia fans have been amazing.

“I love how welcomed we are by everyone, to the point I have often flirted with the idea of moving to Australia. First and foremost, though, I want to win, and I am looking forward to seeing my Australian friends and fans again come November.”

Internationals joining Brayton in Honda Racing’s AUSX 450 class line-up will be Dean Wilson, while current Australian SX2 champion Max Anstie will defend with the outfit onboard a CRF250R. Both riders were previously confirmed for AUSX when signing their deals for this season, inclusive of Monster Energy Supercross and WSX with the team.

The opening races of the three-round 2023 Australian Supercross Championship are scheduled to place at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle on 11 November.