News 28 May 2023

Webster returns to winners circle with Gillman victory

Tanti second as Beaton regains MX1 championship lead.

Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster has made a stunning return to the top step of the MX1 podium with a commanding 1-1 performance in South Australia for round five of the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship at Gillman.

It was a strong display from Webster in the opening MX1 moto, the Western Australian gapping the field immediately on the first lap before maintaining a consistent advantage to the chequered flag.

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Clout initially held second before going down on lap two, gifting P2 to teammate Aaron Tanti, who put on a consistent performance to remain in the position.

Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team) crossed the line third ahead of Jed Beaton (Honda Racing), who put on a charge to get into the position, while Maximus Purvis (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha) rounded out the top five.

Moto two was a chaotic encounter, with heavy rainfall causing havoc in the opening stages. Webster claimed the holeshot and early lead before being passed by teammate Beaton in the early laps.

In the midst of the downpour, Webster found himself in a brief back and forth with CDR Yamaha Monster Energy duo Clout and Tanti, ditching his goggles in the process.

The trio made their way by Beaton and Clout led majority of the outing before going down in the later stages, allowing Webster to inherit the lead and ultimately secure the race victory and overall win. Tanti hung on for second as Clout recovered for third, while fourth and fifth were awarded to Beaton and Harwood.

Overall, Webster was joined on the podium by Tanti and Beaton – the latter now leading the championship standings with a slender one-point advantage over Dean Ferris (Yamaha), who endured a rather forgetful weekend.

Detailed results