Features 28 May 2023

Racefeed: 2023 ProMX Rd5 Gillman

Direct updates from round five of the season in South Australia.

Follow the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship with direct MX1 and MX2 updates from the fifth round of the season at Gillman through Racefeed.

Image: Foremost Media.

MX2 qualifying:
MX2 championship leader Wilson Todd (Honda) immediately set the tone for the quarter-litre category, topping the qualifying timesheets with a quick-time of 2m04.663s, an impressive 1.753s second ahead Serco Yamaha-mounted Jesse Dobson, whose fastest lap was 2m06.416s. Teammate Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha) was a fraction behind in third with a 2m06.952, while Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team) and Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) locked out the top five. Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) was sixth ahead of Blake Fox (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing), while the top 10 was completed by Brodie Connolly (Honda Racing), Haruki Yokoyama (Empire Kawasaki), and Ben Novak (Honda).

MX1 qualifying:
MX1 qualifying saw the top four separated by a mere half-second, with Honda Racing duo Beaton and Kyle Webster emerging quickest with 2m04.353s and 2m04.525s times respectively. Davey Motorsports’ Hamish Harwood lodged a 2m04.639s followed by reigning champion Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) with a 2m04.879s, while teammate Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) rounded out the top five with a 2m.05.938s.Completing the top 10 was Dean Ferris (Yamaha), Brett Metcalfe (GO24), Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team), Jai Walker (KTM) and Maximus Purvis (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha). The MX1 top 10 will be determined in the Pole Shootout, due to take place following MX2 moto one.

MX2 moto one:
The opening MX2 moto was a thrilling affair as the battle for the win came down to final moments, although it was Todd we kept Crawford at bay to secure another race victory. The pair were locked in a battle for the entirety of outing, and despite several attempts on the final lap, Crawford never managed to lead the defending champion in what was a brilliant defensive effort from Todd. GasGas Racing Team’s Noah Ferguson put in a consistent performance for third, while Serco Yamaha duo Budd and Dobson completed the top five. Sixth through to 10th was taken out by Connolly, Liam Andrews (Honda), Hayden Smith (Davey Motorsports), Novak, and Yokoyama.

MX1 Pole Shootout:
Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster has edged out teammate Jed Beaton to secure top spot in the Pole Shootout at Gillman in South Australia. Former MX2 champion Webster put down a blistering 2m02.457s time, with Beaton just a mere 0.153s behind with a fastest time of 2m02.610s – the pair both lodging their quick times on the same lap. CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Luke Clout recorded a 2m03.102s for P3 ahead of teammate and defending champion Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), whose 2m03.439s was almost a second clear of Dean Ferris’ (Yamaha) 2m04.253s in fifth. Hometown hero Brett Metcalfe (GO24) was sixth fastest ahead of Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports), Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team), Maximus Purvis (WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha), and Jai Walker (KTM).

MX1 moto one:
It was commanding display from Webster in the opening MX1 moto, the Western Australian gapping the field immediately on the first lap before maintaining a consistent advantage to the chequered flag. Clout initially held down second before going down on lap two, gifting P2 to teammate Tanti, who put on a consistent performance to remain in the position. Gibbs crossed the line third ahead of Beaton, who put on a charge to get into the position, while Purvis rounded out the top five. Metcalfe took sixth ahead of Ferris and Harwood, followed by Waters and Walker. Clout could only recover for P11 after going down in the early stages.

MX2 moto two:
Race two was yet another dominant performance from Todd, the Queenslander leading from start to finish in what was flawless outing. Crawford was forced to work his way to P2, eventually moving past Connolly, however by that stage it was too late to make an attack on Todd. Connolly held on for third, ahead of Ferguson and Budd. Sixth to 10th was completed by Dobson, Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team), Ryan ALexanderson (KTM), and Blake Fox (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing).

MX1 moto two:
MX1 moto two was a chaotic encounter, with heavy rainfall causing havoc in the opening stages. Webster claimed the holeshot and early lead before being passed by teammate Beaton in the early laps. In the midst of the downpour, Webster found himself in a brief back and forth with CDR Yamaha Monster Energy duo Clout and Tanti, ditching his goggles in the process. The trio made their way by Beaton and Clout led majority of the outing before going down in the later stages, allowing Webster to inherit the lead and ultimately secure the race victory and overall win. Tanti hung on for second as Clout recovered for third, while fourth and fifth were awarded to Beaton and Harwood. P6 to P10 were taken out by Gibbs, Waters, Metcalfe, Ferris – who crashed in the early stages – and Levi Rogers (Yamaha).