News 6 May 2023

Yamaha duo Tanti and Dobson top Maitland ProMX qualifying

Gates to drop on select opening motos of the weekend this afternoon.

Image: Foremost Media.

Defending Penrite ProMX champion Aaron Tanti has topped Thor MX1 qualifying at this weekend’s fourth round of the season in Maitland, as Jesse Dobson led the way in Pirelli MX2.

With the top five separated with a second, CDR Yamaha Monster Energy rider Tanti’s benchmark of 1m42.872s placed him just 0.047s ahead of Kyle Webster (Boost Mobile Honda Racing).

Webster was in turn directly ahead of two former champions in Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs fourth, as new red plate-holder Jed Beaton (Boost Mobile Honda Racing) slotted into P5.

The top 10 this morning was completed by Dean Ferris (Yamaha), Jai Walker (KTM), Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha), Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) and Hamish Harwood (CML KTM Davy Motorsports).

Image: Foremost Media.

In Pirelli MX2, it as a Serco Yamaha 1-2 for Dobson with a 1m45.557s and teammate Rhys Budd, edging defending champion Wilson Todd (Terrafirma Honda Racing) and Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team).

Fifth on the charts was Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) ahead of Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team), while Matt Moss’ return to the 250 class with WBR Yamaha saw him qualify in P7. Eighth through 10th were Ryan Alexanderson (Moto1 KTM), Reid Taylor (GasGas) and Liam Andrews (Spectro Elliott Bros Racing Honda).

The Maxxis MX3 qualifying session was led by round three winner Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) ahead of Jake Cannon (Yamaha Junior Racing) and Jet Alsop (KTM), with points-leader Byron Dennis (GasGas) P7.

In the second MX85 WJMX Qualifier of the year, it was Lachlan Allen (KTM) on top, followed by Seth Thomas (GasGas) and Heath Davy (Yamaha). The opening motos of the round this afternoon will see the gates drop on MX1, MX3 and MX85.

Detailed results