News 6 May 2023

Charging Ferris races to opening MX1 moto win in Maitland

First MX3 moto win goes to Alsop as Allen tops MX85 WJMX Qualifier.

Image: Foremost Media.

Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha’s Dean Ferris has won today’s opening Thor MX1 moto of the Penrite ProMX weekend at Maitland, marking the first of three premier class races at round four.

It was CDR Yamaha Monster Energy duo Aaron Tanti and Luke Clout who ran in formation during the early stages, until a charging Ferris made his move by Clout, right as Tanti fell at the front.

That enabled the three-time champion Ferris to power ahead for the moto win by 12.960s over Clout, with Tanti recovering to finish third. A late pass by Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team) saw him edge Kyle Webster (Boost Mobile Honda Racing), who crashed out of third a couple of laps earlier.

Sixth was another inspiring performance from New Zealander Hamish Harwood (CML KTM Davey Motorsports), followed by Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Go24 KTM), points-leader Jed Beaton (Boost Mobile Honda Racing), KTM privateer Jai Walker and Joel Evans (Honda).

A unique three-moto format was introduced for this weekend’s two-day event, with Thor MX1 and Maxxis MX3 both featuring an additional race across the weekend, while MX2 will keep its traditional format.

The opening Maxxis MX3 moto of the round was won Jet Alsop (KTM) after making a late move on red plate-holder Byron Dennis, who struck trouble soon afterwards and ended up fifth. It was Yamaha riders Jake Cannon and Seth Burchell completing the top three.

Early leader Connor Towill (KTM) went down while in front and eventually crossed the finish in P9, with Jack Mather (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) finishing 13th, fighting through from the rear of the field to salvage vital points.

As for the first MX85 WJMX Qualifier race of the weekend, top qualifier Lachlan Allen rode his KTM to P1 this afternoon to open proceedings, leading Seth Thomas (GasGas) and Cooper Ford (KTM).

Detailed results