News 24 Apr 2023

Mixture of AORC winners emerge across QMP rounds

Rounds three and four of the 2023 championship complete in Queensland.

Image: Foremost Media.

A mixture of winners emerged across rounds three and four of the 2023 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) at Queensland Moto Park (QMP), as battles throughout various categories continue to take shape.

In E1, GasGas rider Korey McMahon was victorious on both days, securing the series lead in class as reigning champion Kyron Bacon (ShopYamaha Off-Road Racing) was absent as he recovers from a broken left leg.

Cooper Sheidow was drafted in as his fill-in at ShopYamaha, and finished second in E1 across both days at QMP, while Empire Kawasaki Off-Road team’s Will Price completed the top three in the category in rounds three and four.

The E2 category saw reigning champion Josh Green take the win on Saturday, before Jonte Reynders (Motul Pirelli Sherco Racing Team) stood tall on Sunday. Second in the class at round three was Fraser Higlett (Beta), while Green was P2 in round four and Jye Dickson (GasGas) completed the top three on both days.

Husqvarna racer Stefan Granquist emerged on top of E3 in round three, leading Riley McGillivray (KTM) and Patrick McGillivray. Riley McGillivray went one better on Sunday to secure P1 at round four, ahead Granquist in second and Sam Pretscherer (Simford Motorsport Group) in third.

Yamaha-mounted William Dennett continued to impress in the EJ category, taking the win in class on both days, as Jessica Gardiner (Yamaha JGR Ballard’s Off-Road Team) returned to the top step in EW with a convincing display to claim victory at rounds three and four in the category.

Detailed results