News 16 Apr 2023

Connolly sets MX2 pace at Wodonga qualifying

Webster posts quickest time in MX1 qualifying, with Shootout later cancelled.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s Brodie Connolly and Kyle Webster have set the early pace on a heavy track at the third round of the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship at Wodonga.

After a delayed start due to muddy track conditions, the MX2 qualifying got under way and Brodie Connolly (Polyflor Honda Racing) set the early fastest lap and held his advantage to the end of the session.

The Kiwi’s time of 1m57.003s was about 0.7s faster than that of his team-mate and series leader Wilson Todd (Terrafirma Honda Racing), with Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Alex Larwood clocking the third-quickest lap.

Husqvarna rider Kaleb Barham and Yamaha’s Jacob Sweet finished the session with top five results.

GasGas Racing Team’s Noah Ferguson ended up sixth, ahead of Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team), Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha), Jayce Cosford ((Yamalube Yamaha Racing) and Jesse Dobson (Serco Yamaha).

Notably, Appin round winter Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team) could only manage a 14-fastest lap-time, almost six seconds slower than Connolly.

Image: Foremost Media.

Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster put in an impressive lap in sodden conditions to claim the MX1 qualifying honours.

His lap-time of 2m12.474s was almost three-and-a-half seconds quicker than that of his team-mate, Jed Beaton, who finished second quickest.

KTM’s Hamish Harwood registered the third-fastest lap, but copped a three-place penalty for jumping under a yellow flag.

Joint series leader Dean Ferris (Brisbane Motorcycles KTM) and Kiwi fill-in Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha) finished inside the top five, ahead of Matt Moss (WBR Yamaha), Kirk Gibbs (KTM Racing Team), Liam Jackson (GasGas), Regan Duffy (GasGas Racing Team) and former champion Luke Clout (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy).

Defending champion and series leader Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) struggled in the mud to 18th, as did Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) in 12th.

The Top 10 Pole Shootout was cancelled due to the muddy conditions, meaning Webster will have first pick of the gate for the two motos.

Detailed results