News 16 Apr 2023

Beaton takes control of MX1 points with Wodonga victory

Honda Racing rider splits race wins with Ferris to earn the red plate.

Image: Foremost Media.

Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Jed Beaton has leapt clear of his rivals and into the ProMX series lead after a composed 1-2 result in extremely muddy, rutted conditions at Wodonga.

Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing rider Todd Waters and KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs also put in two consistent rides to fill the round podium.

Taking place in heavy rain, Beaton took the opening MX1 moto win in chaotic circumstances.

Team-mate Kyle Webster scored a huge holeshot and quickly checked out from the chasing pack, but with five minutes left on the clock, he surrendered a 45-second lead and handed the race victory to Beaton.

Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing) finished more than a minute behind Beaton to take second, ahead of KTM’s Hamish Harwood. KTM’s Jai Walker and KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs came home in fourth and fifth.

Maximus Purvis (WBR Yamaha), Brett Metcalfe (GO24 KTM), Liam Jackson (GasGas), Dylan Wood (Honda) and Regan Duffy (GasGas Racing Team) completed the top 10.

Some of the main championship contenders suffered DNFs in the challenging conditions, including both red-plate holders Dean Ferris (Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha), Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), and early race leader Webster.

On a drying but very rutted circuit, Ferris put in a late-race charge to take the lead and moto two win, making amends for his DNF in the opening hit-out.

Webster scored another monster holeshot off the start of the race, with Beaton second and Gibbs third.

Beaton wasted no time charging past his team-mate on the opening lap and quickly established a handy lead, but Ferris dug deep to close the gap, make the pass and take a 3.8-second win.

Gibbs finished a distant third, with Waters and Webster completing the top five.

Harwood finished sixth, ahead of Tanti and Purvis, while Clout, who looked set for a P6 finish, crashed on the final lap to finish ninth. Metcalfe completed the top 10.

In the championship standings, Beaton has now jumped to the top of the ladder, with 87 points. He leads Gibbs (73) and Ferris (70), while defending champion Tanti has tumbled to sixth after his first-moto DNF.

The fourth round of the Penrite ProMX Championship will be held at Maitland, NSW on 6-7 May.

Detailed results