News 7 Apr 2023

Initial mixture of 2023 WSX championship riders confirmed

A total of 13 formally announced across 450 and 250 categories.

Image: Foremost Media.

An initial mixture of 2023 World Supercross Championship (WSX) riders has been confirmed across the two categories, including defending SX2 champion Shane McElrath and WSX class runner-up Joey Savatgy.

The Rick Ware Racing duo feature in the list of 13 confirmed riders to date, with 11 riders who competed in the SX Global-led series last year set to make a return in its second season.

In the WSX category, Dean Wilson will continue with Fire Power Honda, while Justin Hill and Cedric Soubeyras will form Bud Racing Kawasaki’s premier-class line-up. Additionally, Thomas Ramette and Greg Aranda join Team GSM, plus Kyle Chisholm will make the switch to Pipes Motorsport as he has done in the US. Multiple Australian champion Matt Moss is set to line up with MDK Motorsport in WSX, as former MX2 world champion Jordi Tixier returns with Honda Nils.

In SX2, last year’s runner-up Max Anstie will return with Fire Power Honda, looking to go one better, and will take to the gate alongside six-time French champion Max Desprey (Team GSM) and upcoming talent Dilan Schwartz (Pipes Motorsport).

“The 2023 season is really starting to take shape,” said SX Global CEO Adam Bailey. “I’m thrilled to see teams begin to announce their rider roster, which includes returning riders as well as some new racers who will line up at the start gates in July.

“This is just the beginning, there is a huge amount of work and negotiations that I’m aware of between teams, manufacturers, and championship contenders happening as we speak. It’s an incredibly exciting time. We will have many more exciting announcements about riders, the championship and our expanded broadcast partnerships coming soon.”

After a two-round ‘pilot’ in 2022, the 2023 WSX championship expands to six rounds commencing with the British GP on 1 July at Villa Park Birmingham. It isn’t expected that WSX title-holder Ken Roczen will defend his crown in the coming season.