News 5 Mar 2023

GasGas charger Ferguson fastest in Wonthaggi MX2 qualifying

Crawford and Dobson complete top three as opening round commences.

Image: Foremost Media.

GasGas Racing Team charger Noah Ferguson has posted the fastest time in this morning’s MX2 qualifying session at Wonthaggi, securing the first gate pick in class for the opening round of the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship.

Ferguson’s best effort of 1m50.416s saw him emerge .598s quicker than KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford in P2, as Jesse Dobson (Serco Yamaha) completed the top three courtesy of a 1m51.357s.

Terrafirma Honda Racing’s reigning champion Wilson Todd banked a 1m52.633s relatively late in the session to elevate to fourth, with Alex Larwood (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) rounding out the top five roughly one and a half tenths adrift.

Husqvarna-mounted Kaleb Barham qualified sixth fastest, leading Ryder Kingsford (WBR Yamaha), freshly-minted Polyflor Honda Racing rider Brodie Connolly, Rhys Budd (Serco Yamaha) and Ryan Alexanderson (KTM) who completed the top 10. MX2 debutant Kayden Minear (KTM Racing Team) posted the 11th fastest time, last year’s MX3 champion stopping the clocks with a 1m55.758s lap time.

Detailed results