News 5 Mar 2023

Beaton edges Tanti to lead ProMX qualifying shootout

Field is set for the opening round of the 2023 championship at Wonthaggi.

Image: Foremost Media.

Boost Mobile Honda Racing’s Jed Beaton has edged reigning Penrite ProMX champion Aaron Tanti to emerge on top of the MX1 qualifying shootout ahead of the highly-anticipated season-opening motos at Wonthaggi.

Prior to the shootout, CDR Yamaha Monster Energy’s Luke Clout fired an early warning shot with the quickest time in MX1 qualifying, notching a 1m50.822s to edge returning international Beaton by .826s.

Making it two CRF450Rs in the top three, Webster was third fastest, ahead of Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) and Brett Metcalfe (GO24 KTM) who moved up to fifth in the closing stages.

KTM Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs slotted into sixth, as Brisbane Motorcycles Yamaha rider Dean Ferris, Todd Waters (Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing), Levi Rogers (Yamaha) and the returning Regan Duffy (GasGas Racing Team) completed the top 10. Each rider listed earned a spot in the shootout, where the top 10 gate picks were decided.

Come to the pole shootout and Beaton’s fastest time of a 1m47.373s was posted in the closing stages of the session, ultimately seeing him 1.256s ahead of CDR Yamaha Monster Energy rider Tanti.

Securing third gate pick was Webster, the number 96 less than half a second from Tanti, leading Metcalfe and Gibbs who completed top-five. Clout posted the sixth quickest time in the shootout, as Ferris, Waters, Duffy and Rogers rounded out the top 10.

Detailed results