News 3 Dec 2022

Brayton clinches fifth AUSX title after Wagga Wagga nail-biter

Matt Moss takes championship fight to the wire by claiming round victory.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s Justin Brayton won his fifth Australian Supercross SX1 championship by the barest of margins after a thrilling night of racing at Wagga Wagga’s Speedway Arena.

BBR 102 Motorsport’s Matt Moss took the championship right to the wire by claiming his second round victory in a row, finishing just one point behind Brayton in the final standings.

Brayton finished the round in fourth, but had stacked just enough points from the previous rounds to claim the championship.

After setting the third-fastest qualifying time, Brayton cruised to a P3 result in his heat race, while Moss would lead his from wire-to-wire.

Moss carried the same intensity into the first SX1 final, which he led from gate-drop to checkered flat, ultimately finishing with a 1.8-second lead over Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team), while a gritty performance from Hills’s team-mate, Aaron Tanti, saw him finish third.

Brayton, who had been within a second of Moss for most of the race, experienced a flat tyre late in the race and finished a distant fourth, ahead of Kyle Webster (Honda Racing).

Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team) finished sixth after an early crash, while P6 to P10 were filled by Dylan Wood (KTM), Cory Watts (Honda), Zachary Watson (Honda) and Robbie Marshall (Husqvarna).

Tanti led the second SX1 final from start to finish as he stretched out a handy lead over Moss early, and retained it to the finish-line.

In the end he’d finish with an eight-second lead over Moss, who took the round win.

A fast-finishing Josh Hill – who was back in 10th on the opening lap – worked his way onto the podium, after passing championship winner Justin Brayton late in the race.

A P4, and fourth overall, was just good enough for Brayton to secure a narrow one-point championship victory, as Wills and Webster finished fifth and sixth respectively.

P7 through 10 were filled by Wood, Watts, Watson  and Marshall.

Detailed results