News 3 Dec 2022

Anstie crowned SX2 champion at Wagga Wagga AUSX finale

Cole Thompson takes final-round victory as Jack Mather wins SX3 title.

Image: Foremost Media.

Honda Racing’s Max Anstie has captured the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross SX2 championship at Wagga Wagga, tonight, as Cole Thompson finished the year by claiming his first Australian Supercross round win for Serco Yamaha.

Anstie was in white-hot form from early in the day as the series leader set the benchmark time in qualifying, then finished second in his heat behind KTM Racing Team’s Nathan Crawford.

The Englishman continued his pace into the first of the two SX2 finals by taking a wire-to-wire victory. Anstie grabbed the holeshot and quickly began put daylight between himself and the rest of the field as he charged to an 8.9-second win over Crawford.

Thompson overcame a mid-pack start to complete the podium, ahead of Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna) and Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Rhys Budd.

Wilson Todd (Honda Racing) fell in the early stages and worked his way from dead last into P6, while Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team), Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), and Empire Kawasaki duo Jai Constantinou and Haruki Yokoyama rounded out the top 10.

Todd bounced back to claim victory in the second SX2 final, after working his way from third during the eight-lap race.

Thompson led the most of the moto after taking the lead from Ferguson on the second lap, but couldn’t hold off a hard-charging Todd, and ultimately settled for the runner-up spot, 2.4 seconds behind. Still, his 3-2 result was enough to take the round win.

Crawford completed the top three, while Anstie, who worked his way forward from a mediocre start, finished fourth, claiming the 2022 SX2 championship in the process.

Early race-leader Ferguson finished fifth, ahead of Barham, Budd, Cosford, Jaxon Hadlow (WBR Yamaha Racing) and Constantinou.

Holeshot winner Yokoyama crashed out of the race on the third lap.

Image: Foremost Media.

In the SX3 class, Husqvarna racer Jack Mather claimed the championship victory after his nearest rival, Cole Davies (WBR Yamaha Racing) crashed hard in the opening final.

However, it was KTM’s Myles Gilmore who set Wagga Wagga alight with a flawless 1-1 performance to take the round win from Travis Olander (Husqvarna) and Ryan Alexanderson (KTM).

Mather finished the night in fourth overall with 4-4 race results.

Detailed results