News 26 Nov 2022

Resurgent Moss back on top in Newcastle SX1 thriller

Triple Crown causes all kinds of upsets at penultimate stop of the series.

Image: Foremost Media.

Former multiple-time champion Matt Moss’ spectacular resurgence continued in Newcastle tonight after taking a special SX1 victory in the penultimate round of the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross Championship (AUSX).

The first premier class final went down to the wire between Moss and defending champion Justin Brayton (Honda Racing), going back and forth across the final laps until it was a counter-move from Moss that saw him hold on to win.

Brayton was directly behind in P2, with Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team) putting in a consistent ride for third, keeping Kyle Webster (Honda Racing) at bay for much of the duration.

Coming in as joint points-leader, fifth was Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) after he went down twice in the early laps, getting by teammate Josh Hill with two turns to go for position, as Dylan Wood (KTM), the returning Robbie Marshall (Husqvarna), Cory Watts (Honda) and Joel Cigliano (Kawasaki) were the top 10.

A major incident saw Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team) attended to by the Racesafe personnel, unable to finish after going down with privateer Elijah Wiese (Yamaha). Mellross was later transported to hospital under further observation.

There were major championship implications in the second 450 final after Tanti crashed out of the lead at halfway, enabling Brayton to power ahead at the front and go on to win by 3.910s. It was a tough break for the reigning national champion Tanti, assisted away by the medical crew and out of the race.

Second was yet another convincing effort from Moss, as Wills repeated his opening race result for P3, this time over Hill and with Webster fifth. Sixth was Marshall ahead of Wood, Blake Cobbin (GasGas), Cigliano and Watts in 10th position.

After slicing his way to the front of the pack past Moss in the opening laps, it appeared Brayton was going to get away for the round win, but disaster struck when a bike problem denied him any hope of the overall.

While the number one plate-holder cruised to seventh, Moss took advantage to reclaim the lead and was never headed, despite late pressure from Hill just 0.449s back across the finish-line.

It was Moss and Hill who went 1-2, as Webster improved to third in a strong end to his night, while the ever-consistent Wills rode to P4. Places six to 10 included Wood, Watts, Brayton, Marshall, Cobbin and Cigliano.

The overall podium saw former multiple-time series champion Moss back on the top step ahead of 450 class rookie Wills, with Brayton salvaging third tonight. In terms of the championship and with a single round remaining in Wagga Wagga next Saturday, 3 December, Brayton is eight points ahead of Moss, with Wills climbing to third position, five points clear of Tanti.

Detailed results