News 26 Nov 2022

Moss and Todd lead the way in Newcastle AUSX qualifying

Penalty sees Anstie docked in this afternoon's SX2 session.

Image: Foremost Media.

It was the in-form Matt Moss and Wilson Todd who led the way in qualifying this afternoon at round three of the 2022 Fox Australian Supercross Championship (AUSX) in Newcastle.

Fresh from recently winning the ‘Prince of Paris’, BBR 102 Motorsports Yamaha rider Moss set the pace in SX1 qualifying with a flying 43.045s.

The benchmark of Moss was just 0.071s ahead of practice leader Aaron Tanti (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy), who is sharing the red plate with defending champion Justin Brayton (Honda Racing) this weekend, and it was in fact Brayton right there in P3.

Fourth was solid from Hayden Mellross (GasGas Racing Team), with Josh Hill (CDR Yamaha Monster Energy) fifth as the final rider within the 43s bracket.

Positions six through 10 were filled by Kyle Webster (Honda Racing), Jackson Richardson (Empire Kawasaki), Dylan Wills (Husqvarna Racing Team) and Dylan Wood (KTM) and Travis Silk (KTM), who was fastest in the non-seeded group.

Image: Foremost Media.

After going quickest in practice earlier, Honda Racing red plate-holder Max Anstie also topped the time-sheets in SX2 qualifying.

A 43.432s placed Anstie ahead of the pack by around four-tenths, however, he was penalised three positions for jumping on the first lap, which in turn handed teammate Todd P1 in the combined rankings.

Todd crashed heavily in practice and was attended to by Racesafe, but returned for qualifying and ultimately set the benchmark with a 43.884s lap-time. Todd led Cole Thompson (Serco Yamaha) and Rhys Budd (Yamalube Yamaha Racing), with Anstie fourth by virtue of his grid penalty.

Fifth came Haruki Yokoyama (Empire Kawasaki) from the non-seeded session, followed by Nathan Crawford (KTM Racing Team), Noah Ferguson (GasGas Racing Team), Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna), Jaxon Hadlow (WBR Yamaha) and Jayce Cosford (Yamalube Yamaha Racing).

Detailed results